Listen free for 30 days

  • The New Frontiers Series Boxed Set

  • The Ship, NFI, and NEO
  • By: Jack L Knapp
  • Narrated by: Tom Lennon
  • Length: 33 hrs and 20 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The New Frontiers Series Boxed Set cover art

The New Frontiers Series Boxed Set

By: Jack L Knapp
Narrated by: Tom Lennon
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

First Command Box Set: Spacers, Books 1-6 cover art
Stars End: The Complete Series Box Set cover art
Convergence cover art
Lt. Reilly - Bundle: 5 Book Series cover art
Backyard Starship cover art
Hunger: The Complete Trilogy cover art
Extinction Series: The Complete Collection cover art
Universe in Flames Megabox- Ultimate 7-Book Box Set cover art
Baldwin’s Legacy Boxed Set cover art
Lucky's Marines Box Set cover art
Columbus Day cover art
Space Assassins Box Set: The Complete Series, Books 1-5 cover art
Earth's Last Gambit: The Complete Series cover art
Starship for Sale cover art
Federation Chronicles cover art
Descendants of War: The Complete Series cover art

Summary

Three complete novels. Almost 1,000 pages of lighting-paced action. 

Anyone who is a fan of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, David Weber will love Jack L. Knapp. And they do. Thousands of copies have been downloaded. This is science-fiction at its best - future engineering, intrigue, first contact....It’s a space opera like none you’ve experienced before. The audiobooks will keep you listening late into the night - you won't be able to stop!

Audiobook 1: The Ship 

Building a spaceship that uses Nicola Tesla's revolutionary space drive is only the beginning. From a new industrial revolution to the brink of global war, restless humanity presses onward, eventually to the first contact with an alien species. 

There will be changes...if we survive.

Fans of Carl Sagan, Arthur C. Clarke, and Jerry Pournelle will love this hard SF series. 

"Readers who like their socket wrenches properly used will love this" - T. Jackson King

"Interesting approach combining near future with imaginative science" - Amazon Customer

"A real 'hard' science fiction novel. Jack Knapp continues to write a good story. I love that his editing is also superb. No more errors than I’d find in a professionally published book." - Ronald Q. Smith

Audiobook 2: NFI 

New Frontiers, Inc, is leading the drive to conquer space. Overcoming opposition from powerful and jealous nations is only the beginning. What of the alien society that left those mysterious beacons in the asteroid belt? They’re still here, and they’re not happy....

If you liked John Ringo’s Troy Rising trilogy, you’ll enjoy Jack Knapp’s New Frontiers series.

Much more action, skullduggery, etc. Plenty of new tech, lots of spying, and back door deals. We may be on the eve of WWIII.

Audiobook 3: NEO

World War III is about to break out. As if that wasn’t dangerous enough, the enigmatic extraterrestrials called the Flickers have returned with a warning: do not venture beyond the moon. Faced with the ultimate threat, can humanity put aside their differences and unite to face the common danger?

Fans of Robert A. Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, and David Weber will enjoy this series.

"...a page turner...I was up most of the night." - Blair Howard

"A well written book and a great series that grabs your attention and holds it" - CB

"It’s such a rare event that a story captures my attention so well that I forget to eat and sleep. The author really understands Geopolitics and human nature" - Kindle Scotty 

©2016-present Jack L Knapp (P)2018 Jack L Knapp

What listeners say about The New Frontiers Series Boxed Set

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story - worst narrator ever

Good story - ruined by a narrator that cannot create character differentiation in their voice. First book has several sections where you can hear him re-recording due to mistakes (seems Russian voices were difficult to do)

worth listening to but please do not ever get this person to read another book - unless its main character is Elma Fudd...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

If you are into Niven or Pournelle this is not for

Bit like watching a second rate movie on the horror channel....never really gets anywhere and then ends

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious story appallingly performed

I hate to criticise something that someone has spent time on and presumably is proud of, but this is by far the worst audiobook I have ever had. The story moves at a snail's pace, going into minute tedious detail about how a factory is built and funded and some implausible vehicles built. The narration is performed almost in a monotone, with virtually no difference between the different characters' voices, apart from some ludicrous Russian characters with joke accents. The performer does not seem to realise that when people are speaking their native tongue, they don't have English-mangling accents. I am only continuing to listen to it because I have no credits left and need something to accompany my daily torture in the gym. Wish I'd listened to the sample before committing!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

All the way to Mars

Sci Fi doing what it does really well - exploring what ifs. I really liked following these people all the way through from first concept to first contact.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Good Current Sci-fi.

Ok so a bit about me I read and listen to a lot of books mainly Science fiction and Fantasy but also am a fan of the likes of Jeffery Archer, Bernard Cornwell and many others. I will start with the bad - I nearly gave up on this set early on I found the authors need to describe minute detail then skip weeks or months to be a bit infuriating early on, as the story goes on these gaps became less of a frustration but early on was really annoying. An example of this is they go into great detail over a warehouse electrical capability and the talk of single phase vs 3 phase power then skip a chunk of time where they went from part of a prototype unit to a fully working demo model. The author has/had a habit of using the characters in a simplistic way to pass information to the reader by engaging in what is almost monologues, now this is not uncommon I know and isn't the end of the world but I have always liked a slower awakening of information than feeling that an interaction was for my benefit alone. I also felt that a few of the character development arches were quickly rushed over or dismissed which is a shame (I wont go into to much detail) I feel that these first 3 books could of been expanded into 4 or possibly 5 without feeling over done. So the Good - The Story is great I liked the concept and that's what kept me going, I also liked the way that the author incorporated really life problems and made the situations relatable I think that pulling off a science fiction story set in our own time can be challenging and this set does a really good job of it. I wouldn't say I loved the characters but I loved how a lot of them were written and appreciated the flaws and how they were depicted throughout. Narration - the Narration is really good and from the start felt drawn in by him which is always a good sign. The British accent was a bit ropey (being from the UK) but all in all it was a good performance. There was a slight issue in the 3rd book I believe where it sounds like someone was knocking on his door and you can hear some background noise but I imagine that is more of an editing issue than narration. All in all if your looking for a series which is grounded in a current world scenario and is driven by detail this is definitely one for you. I am looking forward to seeing how it progresses.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The New Frontiers Series

The blurb was the thing that had me wanting to listen to this series, unfortunately, it is not as exciting as the description made out.
It had too much detail and this dragged the book. I had to leave it a few times and get back to it. Now, I don't mind detail if we get plenty of action but this is something that the book was lacking.
There are things I would have taken out, to speed things up, and other things I would have put in to give it more suspense. It is not a bad book and I loved the characters but it didn't grab me like I wanted it too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, iffy narrator

I enjoy the book, but the narration was poor, especially Australian accents. Once you get over this it’s a good listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!