Listen free for 30 days

  • Earth's Last Gambit: The Complete Series

  • A Sci-Fi Box Set, Books 1-4
  • By: Felix R. Savage
  • Narrated by: James Anderson Foster
  • Length: 45 hrs and 14 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Earth's Last Gambit: The Complete Series cover art

Earth's Last Gambit: The Complete Series

By: Felix R. Savage
Narrated by: James Anderson Foster
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £27.49

Buy Now for £27.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Get the Earth's Last Gambit bundle, featuring all four books in this first-contact series blending hard sci-fi and edge-of-your-seat action. Hours of space, aliens, and mysteries you'll never believe.

Bearing Earth's hopes for deliverance from the alien threat, Jack Kildare and his fellow astronauts successfully complete the long journey to Jupiter. But someone on board is trying to sabotage the mission. As they approach the mysterious alien spaceship orbiting Europa, the crew fractures into rival factions.

Without warning, a long-range attack cripples the human ship.

Now the broken crew is the least of Jack's worries.

The alien spaceship isn't a wreck, after all.

And whoever is on board wants the humans dead.

As the mission unravels into a desperate fight for survival, Jack struggles to decode the enemy plot. If he fails, the astronauts will all perish...and so will Earth.

Buy this special edition omnibus to experience this complete sci-fi series from New York Times best seller Felix R. Savage. It's perfect for fans of Gerald M. Kilby, Iain M. Banks, and Brandon Q. Morris.

Books included in the set:

  1. Freefall
  2. Lifeboat
  3. Shiplord
  4. Killshot
©2020 Aethon Books (P)2021 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Earth's Last Gambit: The Complete Series

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Little Tedious

I have heard this story described as being 'hard scifi', if that term means that no a lot happens in 45 hours, then I agree. I suspect that this story could have been written in a book, but it's spun out over 4, very slowly indeed.
I'm not saying that it's bad, but it's very, very slow and just a bit uninspiring.

Now to the really annoying. I'm a Brit and travel a lot, so the main character is from Nuneaton.... Fine, no issues.... But he is not from the county of War-Wick-Shire, a county I have never heard of. Wa-Rick-Shire, I have. Also, the shuttle that landed to get them to Nuneaton on the M4 would have warranted a hell of a long walk, being more than a hundred miles from Nuneaton. Moreover, where is HURT-fordshire. I've heard of HEART-fordshire... It was painfully sloppy by the narrator not to check the pronunciation. And the writer, putting effort in to find a relatively small town called Nuneaton but then to say the M4 was just annoying.

Decent book I guess, was very much looking forward to the end, to see if anything was ever going to happen, it didn't.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poor

I struggled to find any character that I could like or even care about, the story was long winded and I gave up in the end, the Audible version had numerous glitches and I got fed up having to keep connecting to WIFI and download it ALL again!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-02-22

Unlikeable characters, good narration

I somewhat enjoyed book one as the story kept moving along in an interesting way. Unfortunately, I gave up partway through book two. I realized I genuinely disliked every single character in the story at that point (unlike in book one) and didn't want to spend any more time with them. I'm unsure how the author managed to make me actively dislike so many people to this degree.

Narration was great though!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. Williams
  • R. Williams
  • 08-05-22

Save Your Credit

I was prepared to write a lengthy review of this book and how and why I came to the conclusion that it simply isn't worth a credit, but frankly, it isn't worth my time. If you enjoy weak characters, alien sex, alcoholism, and boredom couple with a weak plot that you can listen too while working on an active jet engine, well then, this book is for you. However, if you enjoy strong character development, an addictive story plot that keeps you up all night listening / reading, then this book is not for you. Don't get me wrong, the author is a skilled tale smith with strong control of his trade. That being said, this book series simply isn't his best work. Call it phoned in. The narration is amazing though. James Foster nails his performance. Dude has wicked vocal talent. I hope to enjoy many more reads by him. That alone is the only reason I made it as far into this series as i did. By the middle of book for I was so complete disinterested in the story that I would simply listen so I could fall asleep. One last thing, if the fine people at NASA ever sent into space a collection of folks as they did in this book, they should be fired, tried for stupidity, and banned from ever touching another piece of technology as long as they lived.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jason
  • Jason
  • 21-01-22

I liked the series, but I had a hard time dealing with the character’s gullibility

The overall story concept was good; the narration was great and the characters were likable (except for Hannah, I HATED Hannah with all of my being).

My issue is with how stupid and gullible the characters were, when it came to trusting others.

They would constantly make terrible decisions when it came to defending Earth. Not only that, they would be betrayed by the same characters over and over again.

Why would anyone trust someone after they repeatedly attempt to murder you? It doesn’t make any sense. I had to keep taking breaks, because it was annoying the heck out of me, but, other than that, the series was good.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brad H
  • Brad H
  • 24-01-22

Just wasn't for me

I just couldn't get into it. I really tried it just wasn't for me. The only reason I'm leaving this review is because no matter what I try to leave a review even if I didn't like a book. The book is well written and the narrator did an excellent job with the book. This review is about how the story felt for me and not a reflection of the author or narrator. I've read other books by Mr. Savage and quite enjoyed them.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott
  • Scott
  • 23-12-21

Far too many plot holes and idiotic choices made

I made it to what I believe to be book 3 and decided I do not care about the outcome, the characters did not behave as you would expect astronauts, scientists or anyone with common sense to behave.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susanne
  • Susanne
  • 19-11-21

Excellent!

I had read the books a couple of years ago and loved them. This audio production was excellent as well! The narrator was great and brought the characters to life in a pleasing, easy to listen to manner. The books are so original and I found the characters fascinating; they are multi-dimensioned with internal conflicts with which they must deal. I fully enjoyed the experience of listening to these books and re-living the stories again!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tomulus
  • Tomulus
  • 28-09-22

Not serious scifi, more like space soap opera

This story was just so preposterous that it was actually amusing. Interspecies gangbang and radio hair?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for William C. Lowe
  • William C. Lowe
  • 06-09-22

excellent

read or listen to this it is worth the effort if you truly like space opera. a little gritty at times but not like anything you have ever delt withi.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John 100
  • John 100
  • 07-04-22

i tried to like it

i really gave this author a chance, but i could not find anything to save this audiobook, the book was just boring and what's this Murdering the inventor of the special water plasma starship engine? are we supposed to be OK with that, as the author thought it was? normally if a company develops a technology you pay for his property if you want to use it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C
  • C
  • 03-04-22

Starts out strong, then goes astray

I read the first book, and it was good Sci-Fi, hard Sci-Fi as they created their spaceship and set forth.

But then we have people in spaceships having fights, making love, everything a writer of a LIfeboat or other "trapped" drama writes to fill the pages. No science, just soap opera.

This may be a spoiler to say they find aliens. And then they all get jammed inside ships with the aliens and the soap opera plots abound. Still no science, just character interplay.

I'm hanging in there, and the humans start having sex with the aliens. Yeah, OK. Then our virile male lead hero "comes out" and has sex with a male alien. Then a human is invited to the mandatory orgy the aliens have all weekend, every weekend. "You're in time, we still have our clothes on!"

And I gave up with the book. Let's see if I can find some Sci-Fi...

1 person found this helpful