Listen free for 30 days

  • The Bridesmaid

  • By: Nina Manning
  • Narrated by: Geri Allen
  • Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (470 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Your best friend. Your worst nightmare....

From the moment they met as children, Sasha knew that beautiful, wealthy, and confident Caitlin would always be her absolute best friend. Sasha would do anything to make Caitlin happy.  

Even keep her darkest secrets.... 

The years have passed, but their friendship remains. And when Caitlin announces she’s getting married, there is only one choice for the role of bridesmaid. Sasha will make sure Caitlin’s wedding is as beautiful and perfect as she is. Won’t she? 

But as the big day approaches, cracks begin to appear. Because no matter what Sasha does, she never seems to make Caitlin happy. 

And the secrets that once bound these two friends now threaten to rip them apart for good....

The brand new psychological thriller from international best seller Nina Manning is perfect for fans of The Perfect Couple and His Wife's Sister.

©2021 Nina Manning (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Bridesmaid

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    142
  • 3 Stars
    95
  • 2 Stars
    48
  • 1 Stars
    20
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    210
  • 4 Stars
    138
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    148
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    95
  • 2 Stars
    51
  • 1 Stars
    28

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not worth it

Big build up that only held my attention as I was hoping for a big reveal. In the end the reveal was quite an anticlimax. Couple of words mispronounced by the narrator too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Interminable, I have not enjoyed a book for a couple of weeks so it’s probably just me. But this just went on and on and I couldn’t care about anyone. Unlikable characters and too implausible for me. I’m sure others will love it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Kept me interested but...

Some terrible stereotypical characters some of which were made me cringe, both in class and on occasions accents. Also the two central female characters not very likeable or believable. All that said it kept me interested and had a good vein of psychological thriller in it. Okay for an audible included. I would not waste a credit on it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Plot twist is very underwhelming.

Like I mentioned, the plot twist was very underwhelming. Nor a very interesting story either. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it wasn't the best

I thought the narrator was good, which probably gave me the will to continue listening. And that it was free; if I had paid, maybe it would have been returned unfortunately.

I did like how it went back and forth, which gave an insight of the relationship between the characters. I kept waiting for this wow moment although, it never came for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not engaging enough

I have got to chapter 8 and I am still waiting on something to actually happen in this book. It is very slow moving and just not engaging enough . I have lost all interest in the main character who appears to be a daft women who spend all her time being obsessed by the life of her obnoxious snobby pal. I dont feel inclined to finish this book, particularly as some of the posh accents put on by the narrator are starting to grate on my nerves.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it,

Great read many twists and turns well read. Passed the time away whilst confined to bed!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

captivating story

what an heat warming & entertaining story, with great characters developed through years and social divides. With a surprising twist. definitely recommended. very well narrated.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A big raspberry

A lot of unnecessary description in the narration. Added little to the story, particularly early on.
Repetitive.
Massive anticlimax. Left me thinking ‘so what?’. The ‘twist’ is very bland.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

nope, waiting but nothing happens.

I was waiting for something to happen but it just never did. it's just drawn out with constant flashbacks. it's not gripping nor interesting but I kept listening as I thought to myself that something must happen eventually.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sweetpea
  • sweetpea
  • 16-11-21

Not her best.

I purchased because her other books included with the membership were great.
This lacked plot, too hard to follow and just a but bit boring.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-07-21

I'm so confused

No mystery, no thriller, just a secret that is not even that shocking and a main character who feels very entitled and involved in other peoples lives. She could have walked away and focused on her own life at anytime as the secret had nothing to do with her. I kept waiting for the story to come together, but it never went anywhere. Narration was great, no complaints there.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 02-06-22

Boring

this title read as though it would be a mystery when all it was was painfully long and boring. I kept listening waiting for the story to start and got all the way through to the end before they revealed anything even mildly interesting. Don't waste your credits or your time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-07-21

Very very good

The performance was great so first and foremost kudos to the narrator. The story itself was touching and well read. The writer draws you in and makes you have an emotional connection with the characters. Really good book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-10-22

very disappointed

I really struggled to finish it. I was so disappointed in the ending. very long listen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Serene Stevens
  • Serene Stevens
  • 22-09-22

Narrator saves the day!

I can't believe I finished this dud. The last 10 minutes is probably the best part of the story. The writing is so dull the characters never go anywhere. I kept waiting for something to happen but NOTHING ever did.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 17-09-22

Just never grabbed my attention.

Though the narration was well-done, the plot was not and I lost interest after 12 chapters. I may try again later. I’m happy it was a freebie from Audible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tanjee Stansbury
  • Tanjee Stansbury
  • 17-09-22

Loved it

What a great story of family lies and love and secrets. The reviews I read before I read this book had me doubting my choice. But It is amazing !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eileen Pareta
  • Eileen Pareta
  • 15-03-22

Narrated beautifully. Story content interesting .

Narrated beautifully. Story content interesting and only slightly suspenseful. Surprising ending. I would recommend this book.