Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Promise cover art

The Promise

By: Michelle Vernal
Narrated by: Katherine Press
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From award-winning author, Michelle Vernal comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel inspired by her birth family's connection with the Isle of Wight. Fans of Susan Sallis, Ella Carey and Fiona Valpy will absolutely love this captivating, unique story. 

1944 - The Isle of Wight: 16 year-old Constance’s life on the island is sheltered until the death of her brother brings the reality of war crashing down around her. He leaves behind his pregnant widow, Ginny. When Constance meets a handsome Canadian air force man, she’s eager to escape her grief and be swept up by first love. It’s a love which has ramifications she could never envisage. 

Present day: when young British backpacker, Isabel Stark, happens across a car accident on a lonely stretch of road in the South Island of New Zealand, her life changes forever. The sole passenger, Ginny Havelock asks her to make a promise before she passes away - to find Constance and to say she’s sorry.

©2021 Michelle Vernal (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic reviews

"The Promise found it's way into my heart, and the haunting story of Constance and Isabel stayed with me long after I finished." (Annie Seaton)

What listeners say about The Promise

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Smith Buckley
  • Karen Smith Buckley
  • 31-03-22

Best Read in a long time

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time Thank you. Will be looking for other books by this author.