Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It’s never too late for a second chance at happiness…

Pearl Flowers has been hiding away for so long that she has forgotten what real life is like. Her quiet routine in a woodland cottage in France is a sanctuary, far away from her past life running a beauty salon. But even when she is sitting at the foot of a beech tree with her drawing pad, surrounded by birdsong, her mind is never still. If she keeps herself distracted and far away, her past can’t hurt her…can it? 

But then an unexpected phone call throws her calm world into chaos. Back in the UK, her estranged father Francis is dying. She hasn’t seen him for decades since he pushed her away and destroyed their family. And on his deathbed, Francis leaves her a gift - a diary, written in a code that only Pearl can understand. 

As she begins to read her father’s diary, Pearl discovers that for forty years, he had been thinking of her almost every day. And as she reads on, secrets begin to emerge from the pages, causing her to question everything she thought she knew.

Reeling from the diary’s revelations, Pearl realizes that the only way to heal and find true happiness is to face the past. But is she ready to confront her deepest secret, the one she’s been running from all this time? 

This utterly tear-jerking and heartwarming novel is for anyone who knows it’s never too late to find happiness. Fans of Matt Haig, Mike Gayle, and Camille Pagán will fall in love with this beautiful, feel-good story.

©2021 Beth Miller (P)2021 Bookouture, Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

"I knew I couldn’t stop once I started - with happy tears running down my face! Just beautiful and thought-provoking! A wonderful, heartwarming, life-affirming tale. Everyone should be reading this.... Outstanding. Five stars do not do this book justice." (Renita D’Silva)

"Outstanding… touched my heart in so many ways and on so many different levels… totally captivating, the characters will stay with me for a very long time. Absolutely loved it." (Readheadedbooklady)

 

"I found myself laughing out loud… I actually sobbed… heart-warming and often heartbreaking." (Rachael Stray)

"Made me cry so much! Sad tears and happy tears, it covers every emotion you’ve got and some you don’t know you had too. Perfect." (beanie_bookworm)

What listeners say about The Woman Who Came Back to Life

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A window on a family

I enjoyed this book. The narrator was great and combined with the story it was like listening to a friend chatting over coffee.

The story was well crafted but I was a bit shocked when it stopped …. loose ends where I definitely wanted to know more particularly the step mother/sisters perspective. But what I really felt was it needed a bigger ending - unless there is a sequel :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Utterly Brilliant!!

I enjoyed this very much, the plot the characters and the way the story unfolded. Excellently written and performed!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Estelle
  • Estelle
  • 06-02-22

Excellent listening, well narrated

Loved it! Laughed so hard when she was stuck on the gate! Real life! lol