Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A USA Today best seller!

A world at war. 

One woman will risk everything. 

Another will uncover her story. 

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep - a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery. Fans of Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn will be absolutely gripped from the very first moment. 

©2021 Lorna Cook (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended." (Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan)

"Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII." (Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife)

"A book to get lost in.... Love, suspense and a page-turning story." (Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Girl from the Island

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lorna Cook is my new author 😁

Lorna’s books always have a look at the past but also the ‘current’ day.
There are always wee twists in the story
Her books are really nice to hear & look forward to more books from Lorna

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

At first I wasn’t sure that I was going to enjoy this book as much as other books by the author but I was wrong and it pulled me in.
Really enjoyed it, just a shame that the lady reading it read it fast as though she’d just remembered she had left a pie in the oven!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful as always

another beautiful heart warming story that will bring more tears. read in the most perfect way.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The special Island

Very good book based on a lot of facts as well as fiction, I enjoyed very much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it, Could not stop listening.

I've listened to her other stores and couldnt wait for this to be released . Great lĺisten, I couldn't stop listening. Strong characters and story unfurled wonderfully with some cliffhanger moments Lots more from ths author please I'm a big fan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

as wonderfully enjoyable as her previous two books. easy to listen too with a dose of history education thrown in