Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Storm Girl cover art

The Storm Girl

By: Kathleen McGurl
Narrated by: Kitty Kelly
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Emerald Comb cover art
The Daughters of Red Hill Hall cover art
The Pearl Locket cover art
The Girl with the Emerald Flag cover art
The Drowned Village cover art
The Girl from Ballymor cover art
The Forgotten Gift cover art
The Stationmaster’s Daughter cover art
The Secret of the Chateau cover art
The Forgotten Secret cover art
The Daughter of the Fens cover art
The Existential Worries of Mags Munroe cover art
The Manor House cover art
The Lady of the Loch cover art
The Legacy of Halesham Hall cover art
The Secrets of Hawthorn Place cover art

Summary

The gripping new historical novel from the USA Today best-selling author of The Girl from Bletchley Park and The Forgotten Secret.

A heartbreaking choice. A secret kept for centuries.

1784. When Esther Harris’ father hurts his back, she takes over his role helping smugglers hide contraband in the secret cellar in their pub. But when the free traders’ ships are trapped in the harbour, a battle between the smugglers and the revenue officers leads to murder and betrayal—and Esther is forced to choose between the love of her life and protecting her family....

Present day. Fresh from her divorce, Millie Galton moves into a former inn overlooking the harbour in Mudeford and plans to create her dream home. When a chance discovery behind an old fireplace reveals the house’s secret history as a haven for smugglers and the devastating story of its former residents, could the mystery of a disappearance from centuries ago finally be solved?

Sweeping historical fiction perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and Tracy Rees.

©2022 Kathleen McGurl (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Storm Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn't Like The Narrator

I loved the story, but unfortunately it was spoilt by the narrator's performance, which I found to be very false and patronising - sorry

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!