Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A tale as old as time. A spirit that has never rested.

Present day.

As a love affair comes to an end, and with it her dreams for her future, artist Selena needs a retreat. The picture-postcard Sloe Cottage in the Somerset village of Ashcombe promises to be the perfect place to forget her problems, and Selena settles into her new home as spring arrives. But it isn’t long before Selena hears the past whispering to her. Sloe Cottage is keeping secrets which refuse to stay hidden.

1682

Grace Cotter longs for nothing more than a husband and family of her own. Content enough with her work on the farm, looking after her father, and learning the secrets of her grandmother Bett’s healing hands, nevertheless Grace still hopes for love. But these are dangerous times for dreamers, and rumours and gossip can be deadly. One mis-move and Grace’s fate looks set....

Separated by three hundred years, two women are drawn together by a home bathed in blood and magic. Grace Cotter’s spirit needs to rest, and only Selena can help her now.

USA Today bestselling author Judy Leigh, writing as Elena Collins, brings you this unforgettable, heart-breaking, gripping timeslip novel set in a world when women were hung as witches, and fates could be sealed by a wrong word. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Louise Douglas.

©2022 Elena Collins (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"A wonderful book by a fabulous author, very highly recommended." (Louise Douglas)

What listeners say about The Witch's Tree

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It

I loved this book from start to finish,but glad I don't live in the 17th century...my kind of book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice enough

I wanted to love this more. It has all the elements of a Barbara Erskine but without the ghostly frisson of ancient jeopardy leaking into the present. The main character's situation was somehow without tension and her story never intersected in any coherent way with the past timeline.

It was all a bit too cosy for my taste but it may be that the author's readership (under her alternate pen name) expect just this. Nice enough but a bit flabby.

I read the ebook in conjunction with the audiobook which was extremely well narrated.

So 3 stars for the story, 5 stars for the audio = 4 stars overall.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good but glad I don't live in the 17th century.

Elena Collins is a terrific writer. I listened to this when I didn't really have the time but I was hooked and couldn't stop! The author's descriptions of the Somerset countryside made me feel like I was there. I loved the references to all things herbal, medicinal and foraging, Selena's love of art and the information she imparted about various artists and Nick's habit of spouting poetry and literature. A totally immersive novel with an excellent narration.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bryan
  • bryan
  • 05-09-22

Drags

I skipped several chapters to get to the end. The dialogue between characters sounds strange and it could have been more exciting.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MissAngel26
  • MissAngel26
  • 31-07-22

kind of unbelievable and corny if I'm being honest

Dialogue is weak, at best... there's talking but not much is being said because I feel like people didn't actually speak this way... every time the book slipped back to the past I rolled my eyes because I knew the dialogue was going to grate on my nerves. I'm not talking about the actual language or "slang" of the olden days. I'm talking about personal dialogue between Grace and her Gma or how Nathaniel flirted with Grace, their way with words wouldn't have been so dang corny. And the way she was persecuted at the end didn't make sense. My suspension of belief doesn't go that far, I guess.

Às for our present day characters, I can't abide some of their decisions, and I feel like some were made only for the purpose of moving the story along. The fact that some instances didn't make sense were just thrown to the wayside, like the author was hoping her readers just wouldn't notice.

Overall I'm going with a 3 star rating because I did finish the book, the premise was interesting enough for me to spend a credit on Audible purchasing this title. But now I'm wondering if I should return it because I know I'll never listen to it again and it's not really a book I'd rec to my historical fiction/time travel genre loving friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angie Barton
  • Angie Barton
  • 16-06-22

Great story!

I absolutely LOVED this story from start to finish. I've had difficulty getting into a book lately, but not with this one! No doubt I will listen to it again.