Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Forgotten Secret cover art

The Forgotten Secret

By: Kathleen McGurl
Narrated by: Melanie MacHugh
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Can she unlock the mysteries of the past?

A country at war.

It’s the summer of 1919, and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing, and before long, Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.

A long-buried secret.

A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage, she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place - and herself - back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.

For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

©2019 Kathleen McGurl (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Forgotten Secret

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping and informative.

If, like me, you were dubious at the start of this story, that it may prove too much of an 'in depth' factual tale of Irish conflict, do not give up! There proves to be an excellent balance between fact and fiction. Loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ireland

A good story of Irish history, told in a nice way. Also a story of a woman having a horrible husband and starting a new life , with help from her sons. Having had a controlling husband in the past myself it was good that someone else got a new life too. ( my sons helped me too)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mainly loved it

Apart from the infuriating main character Claire (who I often wanted to slap) I loved the story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Average book

Neither good nor bad. Bit too much Irish history for my liking. Story was ok but very drawn out. Ends a bit to abruptly I felt. More details of Ellen’s story would have tied it much more neatly. An ok read but not a favourite of my Audible listens.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Undecided

The female impersonating at least 15 people half of which were men was quite annoying.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-08-20

The Forgotten Secret

EXCELLENT WRITER AND EXCELLENT READER! All her books are top quality. If you love genealogy then you will love the books by Kathleen McGurl !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V
  • V
  • 16-05-20

my review

loved the story. kept my interest,
the reader did a nice job.will listen to more by this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cath6408
  • Cath6408
  • 18-11-22

Absolutely great book.

Loved this book from start to finish. Brilliant story told beautifully. Couldn’t wait each day to get back to it. Thanks to a wonderful author and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynnie Lou
  • Lynnie Lou
  • 02-05-22

Wow!

This fantastic book has a somewhat confusing start. I am so glad I continued to read it. Once I got into the author's cadence, I couldn't stop reading until the end. Highly recommend.