Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Forgotten Secret cover art

The Forgotten Secret

By: Kathleen McGurl
Narrated by: Melanie MacHugh
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Emerald Comb cover art
The Pearl Locket cover art
The Girl from Ballymor cover art
The Drowned Village cover art
The Secret of the Chateau cover art
The Daughters of Red Hill Hall cover art
The Forgotten Gift cover art
The Girl with the Emerald Flag cover art
The Storm Girl cover art
The Stationmaster’s Daughter cover art
The Daughter of the Fens cover art
The Secrets of Hawthorn Place cover art
The Legacy of Halesham Hall cover art
The Forgotten Garden cover art
The Trouble with Secrets cover art
The Midnight House cover art

Summary

Can she unlock the mysteries of the past?

A country at war.

It’s the summer of 1919, and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing, and before long, Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.

A long-buried secret.

A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage, she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place - and herself - back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.

For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

©2019 Kathleen McGurl (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Forgotten Secret

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ireland

A good story of Irish history, told in a nice way. Also a story of a woman having a horrible husband and starting a new life , with help from her sons. Having had a controlling husband in the past myself it was good that someone else got a new life too. ( my sons helped me too)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mainly loved it

Apart from the infuriating main character Claire (who I often wanted to slap) I loved the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Forgotten Secret

I always enjoy Kathleen McGurl books and this is no exception.
I was unsure at the beginning because I know nothing about Ireland and it’s history but the author is one of my favourites and always knows how to intertwine her characters into history and split the timelines when writing. There was a twist at the end that took me completely by surprise. All in all I enjoyed this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping and informative.

If, like me, you were dubious at the start of this story, that it may prove too much of an 'in depth' factual tale of Irish conflict, do not give up! There proves to be an excellent balance between fact and fiction. Loved it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Undecided

The female impersonating at least 15 people half of which were men was quite annoying.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Average book

Neither good nor bad. Bit too much Irish history for my liking. Story was ok but very drawn out. Ends a bit to abruptly I felt. More details of Ellen’s story would have tied it much more neatly. An ok read but not a favourite of my Audible listens.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!