Listen free for 30 days

  • Ransomed

  • The Missing Children Case Files, Book 1
  • By: M. A. Hunter
  • Narrated by: Louise Barrett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Ransomed cover art

Ransomed

By: M. A. Hunter
Narrated by: Louise Barrett
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Missing Children Case Files: Case 1. 

Some secrets are too big to bury.... 

Investigative Journalist Emma Hunter never thought she’d be a best-selling author. Especially not for a blistering exposé of the brutal horrors committed at an orphanage.  

Some secrets breed in the dark....  

All she wants is to return home to the anchoring salt air and solitude of Weymouth where questions still fester unanswered and a 20-year-old secret binds her to the beach.  

And some of them always escape....  

But then she finds herself sucked into the chaos of another cold case and soon realises the search for the missing girl will not only unearth the rot ravaging the safety of children across the south of England, but could even solve the mystery that has tortured her since she was seven years old....  

Murder, She Wrote meets The Fall.... 

Ransomed marks the beginning of a nerve-shredding new crime series of feral reckonings and found family in the face of harrowing inhumanity, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Ann Cleeves and J. M. Dalgliesh.

©2020 M. A. Hunter (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Mind-blowingly addictive! A fresh take on the crime procedural we all love." (Samantha Lee Howe, USA Today best-selling author of The Stranger in Our Bed)

"Wow! What an incredible start to this series. Kept me guessing throughout and I raced to the end - and what an ending! Can’t wait for the next instalment!" (Caz Finlay, best-selling author of the Bad Blood series)

"Hunter serves up an auspicious and gripping start to a darkly thrilling new series and I can't wait to get hold of the next one!" (R. J. Parker, best-selling author of The Dinner Party)

More from the same

What listeners say about Ransomed

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable mystery

I enjoyed this and found it very listenable, so I finished it quite quickly. The plot was interesting, although the motive revealed at the end was a bit lame. I enjoyed the main character and would listen to more books involving her, although she was a bit pathetic at times and didn't seem to have enough grit to be the investigative writer that she was. Perhaps she will grow in confidence and become a bit more like the Jessica Fletcher she aspires to be. The narrator was easy to listen to, and able to do accents well when required. I'd recommend it for those times when you want something engaging but not too taxing.