Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A fantastic debut from a hilarious and brilliantly original new voice in women’s fiction. 

Love is for suckers...isn’t it?

My brother’s getting married in a few weeks and asked for help picking a song for his first dance. I suggested Kiss’ ‘Love’s a Slap in the Face’. It didn’t go down well.

When she was a teenager, Zoë Frixos fell in love with Simon Baxter, her best friend and the boy next door. But his family moved to America before she could tell him how she felt and, like a scratched record, she’s never quite moved on. Now, almost 20 years later, Simon is heading back to London, newly single and as charming as ever.

With Simon back in town, Zoë is determined to finally pluck up the courage to tell him how she feels, but as obstacles continue to get in her way Jess, Simon’s perfect ex-girlfriend, Nick, an obnoxious publicist determined to ruin Zoe’s career and family pressure around her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding - Zoe begins to wonder whether, after all these years, she and Simon just aren’t meant to be.

What if, instead, they’re forever destined to shuffle around their feelings for each other, never quite mastering the steps. Is Zoë right to be sceptical about romance, or is it time she changed her tune?

With a smart, relatable central character and razor-sharp wit, Love Songs for Sceptics is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lucy Vine and Sophie Kinsella

©2019 Christina Pishiris (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about Love Songs for Sceptics

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

An engaging and modern book with one of the best narrations I’ve heard so far on audible, really excellently read. I’m a similar age to the main character and I particularly enjoyed how natural and realistic the dialogue and tone of voice was. You get the kind of story you want from this genre, but it’s intelligent, witty and doesn’t rely on the cliches.
Reminded me of early Sophie Kinsella and Ali McNamara but with a 2020 feel and tone. I’ll definitely be seeking out more by both the author and narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

I absolutely loved this book. A great story and read beautifully. It certainly made my pulse race!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A slow burn

Took a good while before I started enjoying this novel. I’m glad I stayed with it, I almost gave up half way through. The narration was great, which helped and I enjoyed the denouement but somehow just couldn’t become invested in the characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I loved everything about this book. The characters, the plot, the intrigue, the humour. The music references were so clever, even to someone with an embarrassingly limited music knowledge. It was perfectly narrated and I love Christina Piishiris’s style of writing. I’m really disappointed to have finished and am envious of everyone who still has it to look forward to. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

dull and predictable

saw this was narrated by the same lady that does some of the page toon so thought I would give it a go. very disappointed. so predictable you could even guess what characters were going to say let alone the "story"

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Such dreary doom laden narration!

Really struggled with this book. The narration was so flat and serious, weird doom laden intonation. The story was a bit tedious but maybe that was because of the dreary tone?

Great classic rock references.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

cute but very predictable

I really liked the main character, but the whole story was definitely what you would expect. I saw all of it coming, but it was still a good and cute book! I enjoyed it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Loved it From start to finish. I couldn’t put it down! Download it, you won’t regret it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely adorable

The performance of Nicky Diss is wonderfully immersive and the story is fun, romantic and still interesting. The references to pop culture are so nostalgic and relatable for millennials and there is a playlist on Spotify with the list of songs mentioned.
Recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow start, but persevere and you will love it

Took me several chapters to warm to the characters and get into the story but once I did I really enjoyed the book. Like the song title chapter headings. Narrator also good.