Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Dead Man’s Grave

  • DS Max Craigie, Book 1
  • By: Neil Lancaster
  • Narrated by: Angus King
  • Length: 11 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (1,209 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Dead Man’s Grave cover art

Dead Man’s Grave

By: Neil Lancaster
Narrated by: Angus King
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
Going Dark cover art
Whisky from Small Glasses cover art
Broadland cover art
The Snow Killer cover art
Shardlake: The Complete BBC Radio Collection cover art
Murder in Tuscany cover art
Outback cover art
A Deadly Vice cover art
London Large: Blood on the Streets cover art
The Follow cover art
The Murderer's Son cover art
The Taken Ones cover art
At First Light cover art
He Is Watching You cover art

Summary

This grave can never be opened.

The head of Scotland’s most powerful crime family is brutally murdered; his body dumped inside an ancient grave in a remote cemetery.

This murder can never be forgotten.

Detectives Max Craigie and Janie Calder arrive at the scene, a small town where everyone has secrets to hide. They soon realise this murder is part of a blood feud between two Scottish families that stretches back to the 1800s. One thing’s for certain: it might be the latest killing, but it won’t be the last....

This killer can never be caught.

As the body count rises, the investigation uncovers large-scale corruption at the heart of the Scottish Police Service. Now Max and Janie must turn against their closest colleagues - to solve a case that could cost them far more than just their lives....

Longlisted for the 2021 McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year

Don’t miss the first stunning thriller in the new DS Max Craigie Scottish Crime series!

©2021 Neil Lancaster (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Rock hard cop stuff, from a writer who’s done it for real. Absolutely terrific." (Paul Finch)

"If you want to know how the police really do it, you’d be mad to miss out on Neil Lancaster’s assured Dead Man’s Grave." (Claire Seeber)

"When it comes to police procedure, this man’s the real deal. An explosive opening to an exciting new series." (Paul Gitsham)

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about Dead Man’s Grave

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    893
  • 4 Stars
    229
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    866
  • 4 Stars
    175
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    820
  • 4 Stars
    205
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable. Good narrator

Enjoyed it throughout. Really liked the narrator and their style. Good listen. Might try another book by the same Author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Absolutely loved this gripping story! Couldn't stop listening. Loved the narration, characters and story line. Great extra at the end. Would highly recommend and have already downloaded the next book. Outstanding!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

First time I have read this author and really enjoyed this book. The initial concept was a great idea, I say no more. Grew to love the characters, already got the next book, so bye for now a book is calling.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

A superb read throughly enjoy it so well written . Very well read too . Thank you

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twice Listened, Still Thrilled!

This is my second listen of this audiobook and I enjoyed it even more than the first time. It is a brilliant and realistic police procedural with a complex plot and engaging characters. The story is full of twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat. The author has created a vivid and authentic picture of Scotland and its criminal underworld.

The narrator, Angus King, is superb. He brings the story to life with his excellent voice and accents. He captures the emotions and personalities of the characters perfectly. He makes me feel like I am right there with them, experiencing their joys and sorrows, their fears and hopes. He makes this audiobook special.

I highly recommend this audiobook to anyone who enjoys crime fiction and mystery thrillers. It is one of the best I have listened to this year. I am repeating my listen of all the audiobooks in the series and I can’t wait for the next one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC

I had already read this book previously so this was a re-enjoyment/introduction to Angus King. He did a fab job as narrator, really brought it to life and did several different voices for the characters

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Absorbing

Kept guessing throughout a absorbing read,gave an insight to police structure and procedures, a good read

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This Grave Never to be Opened.

If Jed Mercurio's Line of Duty appealed, then you'll love this. An historical feud is rekindled and ex Metropolitan Police officer Max Cragie & partner Janey Calder have to deal with the rising body count & insidious corruption in Police Scotland.
I lost a whole lot of sleep over the past couple of nights as I found the story utterly compelling. I had to keep listening!
Excellently narrated by Angus King, he does a decent job of countless different accents. A couple of them made me wince, but didn't affect my enjoyment of the book in the least.
Fans of McIlvanney, Rankin and Oswald will love this. Can't wait for a follow up!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good listen

The narrator I thought portrayed characters well , especially as I believe
It could have been a little shorter. I look forward to listening to another one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a ride

What an absolutely fantastic listen (read). Max Craigie is a great new detective find and the story has you hooked from the get go. Can’t wait to hear more

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful