Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Snow Killer

  • The DI Barton Series, Book 1
  • By: Ross Greenwood
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (4,485 ratings)

£0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Snow Killer cover art

The Snow Killer

By: Ross Greenwood
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

Death on Cromer Beach cover art
Survivor cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The Murderer's Son cover art
The Hope That Kills cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
The Body in the Marsh cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
The Dentist cover art
False Start cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art
When You Find Me cover art
Coming of Winter cover art
The Sisters cover art
DCI Yorke Boxset cover art

Summary

‘Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream…’

A family is gunned down in the snow but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing - no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

Fifty years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather – each time it snows another person dies.

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue…

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller readers. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2019 Ross Greenwood (P)2019 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist." (Richard Burke, author)

"With The Snow Killer, master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending." (Caroline Vincent)

"Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle of a story with believable characters and spiced with a lot of humour." (Kath Middleton, author)

What listeners say about The Snow Killer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,606
  • 4 Stars
    1,227
  • 3 Stars
    443
  • 2 Stars
    131
  • 1 Stars
    78
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,552
  • 4 Stars
    933
  • 3 Stars
    399
  • 2 Stars
    137
  • 1 Stars
    100
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,432
  • 4 Stars
    1,060
  • 3 Stars
    410
  • 2 Stars
    131
  • 1 Stars
    78

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Struggling with this one

I'm enjoying the story, but the narrator is spoiling it for me - get on with it! Found it very laboured, with excessively long pauses that added nothing to the telling of the story - he might have all day, but I don't. Will carry on for now, as the story is holding my interest, and hopefully I'll develop a tolerance for the narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Very good listen

I enjoyed listening for an odd half hour at first but soon became hooked. The plot was unravelling and I thought I knew who The Snow Killer was. How wrong can you be? With a surprise twist that made me catch my breath. Brilliantly narrated.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The snow killer

Not a bad book it kept me listening. Narration was good not bad at all.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprising. Excellent listen.

A completely absorbing listen and lots of unexpected developments. Actually realise I have not thought about the news for the entire time listening to this and that in itself is quite a recommendation. New author for me. Will certainly try another.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The narrator seems to be shouting

Interesting story but narration kind of threw me off. The narrator says Chapter 67: The Snow Killer! in the same voice as one would say Chapter 5: Diagon Alley!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast Start, Great Middle, Brilliant End

60 books into my audible collection and this is by far the best!! I've always picked books that I had an interest in until this one, I thought I'd give something different a go and am so glad I did.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Didn’t see the twist coming!

I agree with a lot of other reviews about the narrator, I really didn’t like how he read it to start with, especially the lack of emotion at the start of the book, but I realised about half way through, there’s a very good reason for that. I did enjoy it and looked forward to listening to it on my journey to work.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wrong narrator for the job

Narrator didn't seem to fit the story.
The pauses between some sentences were to long making me constantly check to see if I'd paused it, the story didn't require the pause.

Story was good, let down by editing and performance

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

keep with it - it's good. narration excellent

slow start and almost gave up but was very good. narration was excellent and suspenseful

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A GOID READ

Hooked from the word go. the proverbial... couldn't put it down book. Will definitely look for more from this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!