Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £34.99

Buy Now for £34.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the Sunday Times best-selling author of A Maiden's Voyage; perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson.

1874.

Growing up in extreme poverty in London, Pearl thinks life can get no worse. But when her parents discover there's yet another baby on the way, they have to tighten the belt even further. Pearl's mother decides to send her and her younger sister Eliza to the workhouse, where they are forced into a new life of hardship and struggle.

Pearl's hopes are raised when the workhouse offers the sisters a new life in Canada and they board an orphan ship transporting unwanted children across the seas. Pearl hopes their luck has finally changed when she and Eliza are hired by the kindly Mrs Forbes to work in her grand house together. But when Pearl meets their mistress's bullying son Monty he reveals he will stop at nothing to make her life a misery.

Will Pearl ever find the home she so craves?

Featuring an exclusive prequel to the next book in the Precious Stones series, A Simple Wish.

©2021 Rosie Goodwin (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

Critic reviews

"Goodwin is a master of her craft. The perfect book for a cold winter's evening." (Lancashire Evening Post)

"Goodwin is a fabulous writer." (Worcester Evening News)

"A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters." (Margaret Dickinson)

What listeners say about An Orphan's Journey

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Orphans journey

I love all Rosie goodwin books and I really enjoyed this one and I didn't want it to stop. I can't wait to see if there's any more! And the narrator I love listen to her voice I can get really into the books when she is Reading thank you both
Sue Marsh xx

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful.

Loved this book. Couldn't stop listening, quite a few late nights. Narration also brilliant. Well deserved 5 stars.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant book

absolutely loved this book, I was hooked, well worth a read. I can't wait for the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another amazing book

Rosie writes with such passion and detail, I love her books they are hard to put down

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable

I enjoy listening to Rosie Goodwins books 📚 they are what I call an easy listen

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An entertaining story

I enjoyed the story despite a few anachronisms!
I was born and lived in Nuneaton so I have listened to several of Rosie’s books because of this connection.
(Have to admit the accent attributed to the Nuneaton inhabitants was annoying! North Warwickshire not the same as Birmingham/W Midlands!)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Loved it, a great story sad but happynes in the end worth a listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

orphans journey

what a story very good .Poor peal what she went though ended right in the end .I liked the narrator.Rosie Goodwin is a very good writer .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Timeless

I loved this book. It took me back to my teens and reading Catherine Cookson. I loved Pearl and her life journey as it unfolds. A very good holiday read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't put this down, captivated by it.

Already to hear another story , it is brilliant, so glad I didn't live in those days, but so interesting.