Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
An Orphan's Journey cover art

An Orphan's Journey

By: Rosie Goodwin
Narrated by: Charlie Sanderson
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £28.00

Buy Now for £28.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Winter Promise cover art
The Mill Girl cover art
Home Front Girls cover art
Dilly's Sacrifice cover art
The Soldier's Daughter cover art
A Mother's Shame cover art
Gin and Gingerbread cover art
Farewell to Lancashire cover art
Pride of Lancashire cover art
Fortune's Daughter cover art
A Pennyworth of Sunshine cover art
Silver Wishes cover art
Larch Tree Lane cover art
Lancashire Lass cover art
Salem Street cover art
A Thimble for Christmas cover art

Summary

From the Sunday Times best-selling author of A Maiden's Voyage; perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson.

1874.

Growing up in extreme poverty in London, Pearl thinks life can get no worse. But when her parents discover there's yet another baby on the way, they have to tighten the belt even further. Pearl's mother decides to send her and her younger sister Eliza to the workhouse, where they are forced into a new life of hardship and struggle.

Pearl's hopes are raised when the workhouse offers the sisters a new life in Canada and they board an orphan ship transporting unwanted children across the seas. Pearl hopes their luck has finally changed when she and Eliza are hired by the kindly Mrs Forbes to work in her grand house together. But when Pearl meets their mistress's bullying son Monty he reveals he will stop at nothing to make her life a misery.

Will Pearl ever find the home she so craves?

Featuring an exclusive prequel to the next book in the Precious Stones series, A Simple Wish.

©2021 Rosie Goodwin (P)2021 Bonnier Books UK

Critic reviews

"Goodwin is a master of her craft. The perfect book for a cold winter's evening." (Lancashire Evening Post)

"Goodwin is a fabulous writer." (Worcester Evening News)

"A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters." (Margaret Dickinson)

What listeners say about An Orphan's Journey

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    145
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Orphans journey

I love all Rosie goodwin books and I really enjoyed this one and I didn't want it to stop. I can't wait to see if there's any more! And the narrator I love listen to her voice I can get really into the books when she is Reading thank you both
Sue Marsh xx

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful.

Loved this book. Couldn't stop listening, quite a few late nights. Narration also brilliant. Well deserved 5 stars.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another amazing book

Rosie writes with such passion and detail, I love her books they are hard to put down

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant book

absolutely loved this book, I was hooked, well worth a read. I can't wait for the next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable

I enjoy listening to Rosie Goodwins books 📚 they are what I call an easy listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charlie Sanderson

absolutely love Rosie Goodwin can't stop listening, Charlie Sanderson is amazing , and of the many reasons I listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Another fantastic read from Rosie Goodwin and narrated by the best there is Charlie Sanderson. This is the second time I’ve read this. Iove the series of precious stones. The stories are so realistic.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Story

Another brilliant Rosoe Goodwin book but the ending was short, sharp and very predictable - but well worth reading

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really gripping story

This was well written and I just couldn’t stop listening to the book. It’s well written and is definitely a must read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the journey of this family

Hard times but well written, hard to listen too at times but couldn’t stop listening once I started

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!