Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Tess Simpson needs a break! 

No one appreciates her at home. No one appreciates her at work. And now her dog has died. She’s had enough! 

Maybe what she really needs is a break from hopeless husband, Dave, the ungrateful ‘kidults’ and the lacklustre job. 

River Romero needs a break!

She’s had success in the past, but screenwriting is a tough career in a tough town and her next script has got to fly or River’s dream career is over. 

The swap!

Everything about River’s LA life sounds exciting to Tess, from the condo with a pool, to the Hollywood glitz. 

Everything about Tess’ English country life sounds so calming to River, from the wisteria over the front door, to the peaceful bedroom. 

Both women want their lives to change, but real life isn’t like the movies. 

And what if getting away from it all isn’t all it’s cracked up to be? 

A laugh-out-loud emotional listen, perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson, Tracy Bloom and Sophie Ranald!

©2021 Carmen Reid (P)2021 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Worn Out Wife Seeks New Life

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a novel.

This author certainly had some great insight into the life of a wife and a husband plus being a parent and working full time excellent realistic novel

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

*Life’s Discoveries*

This book seemed like it was going to be quite boring, but so well worth the wait. I grew to love it. A Senior Accountant Mother gets to the stage in life when the children are off hand and all that is left is her husband. All her energy has been into sorting out the house and the children. She takes a sabbatical and plans a holiday for them all to spend time with her family. It does not go to plan and all seems lost.

There is one hitch a larger than life American Author is due to stay at their home while they go on their travels. With a lot of persuasion she swaps with the author. I will leave it there.

This book is about Tess discovering who she is as a person and what she can achieve on her own and realise her worth and she has to face if there is anything left in her marriage.