Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

 

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 WILBUR SMITH ADVENTURE WRITING PRIZE

  

The start of a gripping new crime thriller series introducing ex-SAS trooper Jack Tate! 

Perfect for fans of James Deegan, Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney.  

Don’t miss the explosive start to the Jack Tate series.         

When lights go out.... 

British M16 Agent and former SAS trooper Jack Tate is trying to escape his past when he witnesses a terrorist attack of unthinkable scale. An electro-magnetic pulse knocks out the US power grid, killing anything with a computer processor, throwing the whole country into darkness.

You have to escape the past.

Under the cover of the blackout, a clandestine operation aims to assassinate prominent public figures on US soil. Looting and violence spreads across the country. And Jack Tate’s past comes back to haunt him. As the only intelligence operative on the ground, he is hurled into a mission that will put him - and the people he loves - in immediate danger.

You have to defeat the enemy.

With the fate of the United States on the line, only he can prevent the horror of a new world war. 

This is an explosive action thriller you won’t be able to pause.

©2020 Alex Shaw (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Looking for breakneck pace and a relentless hero? Alex Shaw has you covered." (James Swallow)

"Alex Shaw is one of the best thriller writers around! Fast paced, Total Blackout gripped from page one and didn’t let go...as fast as a Hollywood movie." (Stephen Leather)

What listeners say about Total Blackout

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping listen from start to finish!!

The book gripped from start to finish making you ignore the pause button and the only disappointment is that you are left wanting the next book!!
Great performance by Leighton Pugh too an important part of any book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

A great book from start to finish, plenty to twist and turns. Kept you gripped till the end.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No .. just No

Move along, there are so many better books out there. First few chapters developed the character well but then it got stuck, much like an old gramophone record.. skip.. scratch.. jump.. repeat.
Take my advice, choose another

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Painful narrator

I’m only on chapter 4 but I’m seriously struggling with this narrator - he reads like it’s a parody. Males all sound like Donald trump and women sound like Marge Simpson or whiny 6 year olds.

The book is probably quite intelligently written but it certainly hasn’t been read intelligently at all. I hate the children’s story reading style.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well read

a good story well read. easy listening and interesting plot. a new hero emerges. Jack is not as complex as other heroes but has a down to earth believable character. very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First book by this author throughly enjoyed.

First book by this author throughly enjoyed. Good story line could possible happen, well performed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Avoid at all costs

This reads like a teenager’s apocalypse diary, only slightly more fantastical. The story works if you suspend disbelief on every single aspect of the plot.

This is the first book I’ve returned on audible.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

truly awful

worst audio book I've listened to. could have been so much better if the story had been thought through.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great new thriller novelist to join the ranks.

A new novelists for a fiftieth STORY FITHTHor democracy LEADS THE CHARCE ON ANTI COMMUNISM.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Started good ran out of energy author had an EMP

Started good and got my interest then started to jump about form one location and people became a jungle of who was who etc became a bore with a rather stupid story line

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trish R.
  • Trish R.
  • 18-05-21

Good story but not great narration..

Jack and his brother Hunter were good characters. When the Russians and the Chinese got together an EMP surrounded the United States and it was mostly up to Jack to find out what had happened and who did it. And there was a lot of killing going on

There was no romance really and no swearing to speak of.

As for the narration: Leighton Pugh is really not very good. The women sounded like women but so did some of the men. THAT was terrible. And when he read his emotions were decent but not when someone spoke. His expressions were awful at times. Unfortunately, I want to listen to the next book and will have to suffer with his reading AGAIN, unless he got better.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher P.
  • Christopher P.
  • 28-02-22

just ok

I finished it because I paid for it. if it was a free book I would have stopped early on.