Listen free for 30 days

  • Total Blackout

  • A Jack Tate SAS Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Alex Shaw
  • Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
  • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (168 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Total Blackout cover art

Total Blackout

By: Alex Shaw
Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Gray Man cover art
Traitors cover art
Operative 66 cover art
Gone Forever cover art
The Contract Man cover art
The Sam Pope Series: Books 1-3 cover art
The Delta cover art
Dark Intercept cover art
Spider Shepherd: SAS cover art
On the Run cover art
Tier One cover art
Ghost Target cover art
Triggers cover art
The Blake Brier Thriller Series Boxset - Books 1 to 3 cover art
Weapons cover art
Gray Justice cover art

Summary

 

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 WILBUR SMITH ADVENTURE WRITING PRIZE

  

The start of a gripping new crime thriller series introducing ex-SAS trooper Jack Tate! 

Perfect for fans of James Deegan, Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney.  

Don’t miss the explosive start to the Jack Tate series.         

When lights go out.... 

British M16 Agent and former SAS trooper Jack Tate is trying to escape his past when he witnesses a terrorist attack of unthinkable scale. An electro-magnetic pulse knocks out the US power grid, killing anything with a computer processor, throwing the whole country into darkness.

You have to escape the past.

Under the cover of the blackout, a clandestine operation aims to assassinate prominent public figures on US soil. Looting and violence spreads across the country. And Jack Tate’s past comes back to haunt him. As the only intelligence operative on the ground, he is hurled into a mission that will put him - and the people he loves - in immediate danger.

You have to defeat the enemy.

With the fate of the United States on the line, only he can prevent the horror of a new world war. 

This is an explosive action thriller you won’t be able to pause.

©2020 Alex Shaw (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Looking for breakneck pace and a relentless hero? Alex Shaw has you covered." (James Swallow)

"Alex Shaw is one of the best thriller writers around! Fast paced, Total Blackout gripped from page one and didn’t let go...as fast as a Hollywood movie." (Stephen Leather)

What listeners say about Total Blackout

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No .. just No

Move along, there are so many better books out there. First few chapters developed the character well but then it got stuck, much like an old gramophone record.. skip.. scratch.. jump.. repeat.
Take my advice, choose another

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping listen from start to finish!!

The book gripped from start to finish making you ignore the pause button and the only disappointment is that you are left wanting the next book!!
Great performance by Leighton Pugh too an important part of any book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

A great book from start to finish, plenty to twist and turns. Kept you gripped till the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Painful narrator

I’m only on chapter 4 but I’m seriously struggling with this narrator - he reads like it’s a parody. Males all sound like Donald trump and women sound like Marge Simpson or whiny 6 year olds.

The book is probably quite intelligently written but it certainly hasn’t been read intelligently at all. I hate the children’s story reading style.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Avoid at all costs

This reads like a teenager’s apocalypse diary, only slightly more fantastical. The story works if you suspend disbelief on every single aspect of the plot.

This is the first book I’ve returned on audible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No Jack Reacher

This could have been so much better. Dodgy dialogue not helping the story, cliché in places. Lee Child much better.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining read - recommended

I was captivated by the story and I think I will enjoy this series of books. I really like the characters and it is well narrated with no ridiculous sounding accents. I think the author took a few shortcuts to make the story work though which just made it a bit far fetched but I liked it nonetheless. If you like Jack Reacher, the Gray Man, John Milton and characters and stories of that ilk, I am sure you will like this Jack Tate novel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh

Just another super spy book, no better or worse than all the others on the marker

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Very good story great plot I liked how exciting it was and the story really hooked me to listen to more by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well read

a good story well read. easy listening and interesting plot. a new hero emerges. Jack is not as complex as other heroes but has a down to earth believable character. very enjoyable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!