Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Navy SEALs trained him.

A secret unit of the NCIS recruited him.

Enemies fear him.

For elite undercover operative Jack Widow, the news that someone shot his mother, a small-town sheriff, will unleash him in number one best-selling author Scott Blade's explosive series starter.

Pulled off an undercover assignment, Widow returns home to a small town in Mississippi - a place he tried to forget.

Taken to be a worthless drifter by the locals, Widow uses his skills to uncover the truth about his mother's last investigation. What was she looking for?

What he discovers is an unsolved mystery of missing girls and townspeople harboring a deadly secret - a secret they'll die to protect.

Good thing that Jack Widow will kill to find out what.

Fans of Lee Child's Jack Reacher, Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan, Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp, and Mark Greaney's The Gray Man series will love the Jack Widow action-thriller-mystery series.

If gripping thrillers loaded with mystery, suspense, action, twists, and turns is your thing, then Jack Widow is for you!

Listen to international best seller Scott Blade's first explosive book in the Jack Widow series today.

©2016 Scott Blade (P)2018 Scott Blade

What listeners say about Gone Forever

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I Truly Don’t Understand The Hype!

I’m afraid that I’m not a fan.
Reacher - I Love! This character is nothing like Reacher. He appears to have gone at least a week without a toothbrush, or to feel the need for one! Ditto a change of clothes. There seems to be an emphasis on the fact that he (Jack Widow) is very tall, very intimidating and (quite possibly), ugly!! (Don’t quote me), with ‘beautiful’ blue eyes!

Did you read all of the above? Did it seem as if I went on and on without actually Saying anything? Or, did it seem as if I’d missed a pertinent point? Yes? Well, brace yourself, there is A LOT of that in this book! Plus, the characters are all from The Deep South - so they speak slowly - I had to adjust the narration speed to 1.2 for it to seem normal for me!

I’m at chapter 26. There’s no real story. 3 dead bodies, 1 severely wounded Deputy, a dozen missing girls and a completely racist, misogynistic, bigoted small town, with a blinkered Sheriff!

And yet, with all of that going on, I’m bored! There is no story. I wish that I’d just stuck with the Kindle Unlimited version of this title, because using a credit for it, is such a total waste for me.

He’s not Mitch Rapp
Nor Spider Sheherd
Or John Pullen
Or Amos Decker

If you love those characters, you won’t find them reflected in Jack Widow. I’m giving up now. If the story develops beyond chapter 26 and becomes absorbing, then I’ve missed out. But I have a feeling that I won’t have…

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Inane

Perhaps the most tedious book I’ve ever waded through. Actual plot probably alright but could have been effectively told in 2 hours. The remaining 7 were padding as boring as describing how the seat belt came undone - in the middle of a car chase - or how he had heard you could put a wet phone in rice! Seriously dull!!!
The author has tried to emulate Lee Child’s style of explanation but got it awfully wrong.
The author is intimating that this is Reacher’s son. I hope he asked fist!
The narrator had such a boring voice that I frequently (& annoyingly) had to back up as I realised I had daydreamed through large sections.
This has been an Amazon recommendation.
Very disappointing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

not great

struggled to finish, lots of filling and chapter after chapter of nothing. was expecting a lot more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller

First off I have to say Alan Phillip Ormond voice is perfect for this brilliant thriller. Very smooth and easy to listen to .


This is the first book in this great series. Jack Widow , is an NCIS agent , who has ben under cover many times. He has to go home , as his mother, who is a sheriff and has now been shoot. Reaching her in time to say goodbye and make peace .

But now wanting to know who shot his mother, who was looking into missing girls...

This book is set at a lovely pace, with characters who you enjoy and feel as if you know.

Does he get his man...... with his training , I think you know the answer. You will enjoy the ride.

Loved this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very good narration - shame about the story.

This story could have been much more. The narration is good. The story flows well, but the depth just wasn't there for me. I'd guessed the plot twists as soon as they were first hinted at and it's a real shame. The pace is good, but so many things don't add up. He's on good terms with his boss, he is some kind of black ops guy.. so why is the whole book a lone-wolf escapade.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

over elaborate good story but too much detail

nothing left to the imagination as should be in a really good story. This is where each person is left a real opinion

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jack Reacher he is not

Greet story great performance but I kept thinking this was a rejected Lee Childs novel too many similarities to Reacher no stand out moment it was a slog to get through but will read second novel to give him the benefit of the doubt.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book Great narration and story line

much in the Reacher tradition- listen for the early hint! I am already looking forward to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob
  • Bob
  • 15-08-21

Too much!

many story inconsistencies. Characters too predictable and unbelievable. Worn out storyline with a main character too full of himself.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sara W.
  • Sara W.
  • 13-12-20

Who knew?!

I stumbled upon this author and this book by pure accident. To my total surprise and joy, I found Jack Reachers son! It never comes right out and says so, but as Reachers biggest fan...I know! I am so excited to have discovered Scott Blade and the outstanding character; Jack Widow! I’ve already purchased book two in this series! If you are a Reacher fan...you will love Widow!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. S. Pfeifer
  • R. S. Pfeifer
  • 25-02-22

Jack Reacher knockoff

A poorly written attempt to carry on the Jack Reacher next generation series. Hopefully the series improves.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Kelly Lewis
  • John Kelly Lewis
  • 16-02-22

Reacher wanta be

This book is just OK. If I was Lee Child I would not be happy. The book implied the main character, Jack Widow is Reacher's son and writes a watered down version of a Reacher book. I don't plan to listen to the rest of the series, partially because it just seems wrong that an author can hi-jack another author's character and storyline. And it just wasn't that good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for T Heskett
  • T Heskett
  • 22-12-20

Think I'm Gonna Love This Series

This was a great start to this series. Action, intrigue, family, and a dash of romantic interaction. I can't wait to get to the next book. Glad to know this series has been out for a while so the books are there for the reading and listening. Great narrator! I hope he continues with this series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 11-04-22

loved it!!

I loved the story and found my favorite male narrator. Great job to both(applause). I will definitely be listening to more!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard A Seay
  • Richard A Seay
  • 12-03-22

A Reacher copycat

Reacher copycat. A Reacher copycat. Copycat copycat. A A A A Copycat. Not as good Reacher. Not even close to Reacher.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Doug
  • Doug
  • 08-12-20

Promising but needs some fine-tuning

A decent book, but the story and character need some fine-tuning. Overall this book was enjoyable. It just took too long for the action to get started. We didn’t get any action until about four hours into this book. The main character is such a ladies man that women just seem to drop at his feet, it’s a little much. Other than that The story was pretty good. Also, the author is implying without saying that the main character is the illegitimate son of Jack reacher. Other than that, the action was pretty good and the overall story was as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger Pointer
  • Roger Pointer
  • 31-08-22

Pretty good first book.

Not the best I've listened to, but not the worse. Book was pretty slow and not enough action. Hopefully, the rest will be better. The narrator was not that great, in my opinion, did not fit the character.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vickie Smith
  • Vickie Smith
  • 25-08-22

Too much detail

The plot is a good one, however, when he spent about 10 minutes explaining what a bullet can do to your brain, etc., and gave so much detail for every little action, I decided I didn't want to read any more of his books. I'm surprised his editor didn't work with him on this. I wondered why it was a 9 hour book, now I understand.