Listen free for 30 days

  • The Woman Who Upped and Left

  • By: Fiona Gibson
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 11 hrs and 23 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (251 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Woman Who Upped and Left cover art

The Woman Who Upped and Left

By: Fiona Gibson
Narrated by: Emma Gregory
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Old Ducks' Club cover art
The Mum Who Got Her Life Back cover art
As Good As It Gets? cover art
The Mum Who’d Had Enough cover art
The Woman Who Met Her Match cover art
When Life Gives You Lemons cover art
The Woman Who Took a Chance cover art
Return to the Little Cottage on the Hill cover art
A Place to Call Home cover art
One Good Thing cover art
With or Without You cover art
Unchained Melanie cover art
What If? cover art
The Family Gift cover art
The Getaway Girls cover art
Rose's Vintage cover art

Summary

The laugh-out-loud best seller is back with the only book to buy this Mother's Day. Perfect for fans of Outnumbered and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is.

Forget about having it all. Sometimes you just want to leave it all behind.

Audrey is often seized by the urge to walk out of her house without looking back - but she can't possibly do that. She is a single parent. She is needed. She has a job, a home, responsibilities...and a slothful teenage son's pants to pick up. But no one likes being taken for granted - Audrey least of all - so the time has come for drastic action. And no one's going to stand in her way....

©2016 Fiona Gibson (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Warm, funny and poignant." (The Daily Mail)
"The voice of modern woman." ( Marie Claire)
"More than funny, it's true." (Elle)
"Frivolous fun." (Grazia)

What listeners say about The Woman Who Upped and Left

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    172
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved loved loved this book !!!!

This book about Audrey , an ordinary hard working woman enchanted me . So wonderfully written and the narrator who I’ve listened to before was simply amazing. I laughed and cried at all Audreys antics. Please please read this book. I am so sad it’s finished . Loved it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real gem

Audrey and her son Morgans relationship struck a cord with me as a mother of a 15 year old! Made me laugh out loud at times. Another Fiona Gibson triumph. Really enjoyed the narrator too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY!!

Where does The Woman Who Upped and Left rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One of the best!! So funny but also quite touching in parts. The antics of Audrey's son Morgan were just hysterical.
If you're feeling a bit fed up and need cheering up, I recommend that you read,or better still, listen to this book or any of Fiona Gibson's books. She is an excellent author and Emma Gregory, is a perfect choice of narrator for her books.

Any additional comments?

Listen and laugh!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really did think it was a good hilarious book. I have just written a long review & it disappeared! So this is short.
Narrator was perfect. Good story, not predictable at all. Brilliant!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I couldn’t put it down. The narration was terrific and I enjoyed the accents. A lovely, amusing, light listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!!

Loved it, love the story, and Northern accent too, can't wait to listen to another story

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

So relatable, funny , interesting , sprinkled with serious situations and likeable characters. Narration excellent .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great and funny book

Good book. loved it. Would definitely recommend it. All the characters were intresting. A must read if you are a mum.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too predictable

I chose this book for my book club and am sadly disappointed ... Bit bland and predictable . Does do the title justice 😕

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

So many things I could relate to in this book, finished it feeling happy as it has such a lovely storyline

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!