Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Spanish Promise

  • By: Karen Swan
  • Narrated by: Yolanda Kettle
  • Length: 11 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (273 ratings)

£0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Spanish Promise cover art

The Spanish Promise

By: Karen Swan
Narrated by: Yolanda Kettle
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Summer Without You cover art
The Christmas Party cover art
The Greek Escape cover art
The Hidden Beach cover art
Christmas at Tiffany's cover art
The Perfect Present cover art
The Christmas Lights cover art
Christmas at Claridge's cover art
The Secret Path cover art
The Christmas Secret cover art
The Last Summer cover art
Midnight in the Snow cover art
Together by Christmas cover art
Christmas by Candlelight cover art
The Christmas Postcards cover art
From Venice with Love cover art

Summary

The Spanish Promise is a sizzling summer novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Swan, set in the vibrant streets of Madrid, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.

One of Spain’s richest men is dying. But as he prepares his estate, his family is shocked to discover he is making plans to give away his wealth to a young woman they have never even heard of. Who is she and what hold does she have over him?

Charlotte Fairfax is asked to travel to the troubled family’s home in Spain to get to the bottom of the mysterious bequest. It’s the week before her wedding but she is confident she has time – there’s only one reason an older man leaves his money to a beautiful woman, isn’t there?

But in Madrid, things don’t go to plan when the woman denies knowing anything about the gift. Is she lying? Looking for clues, Charlotte digs into the prominent family’s history and unearths a dark and shocking past in which two people were torn apart by conflict. But now, their long-buried secrets are starting to reach into the present and Charlotte starts to wonder whether love does not need to forgive or forget in order to endure – but just needs two hearts to keep beating.

'The perfect summer read' - Hello!

Enjoy more of Karen Swan's captivating summer novels with The Greek Escape and The Rome Affair.

©2019 Karen Swan (P)2019 Macmillan Digital Audio

What listeners say about The Spanish Promise

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    192
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Loved it
Well written and read. An insight into the horrors of the Spanish civil war

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KS
  • 23-03-23

Superb narration

The audio equivalent of not being able to put an absorbing book down and successfully shines more light on a very difficult period of Spanish history.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Superb book, couldn't put it down. Excellent narration. A gripping family saga with history, romance and secrets.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great

loved this book could stop once I put it on lol will yell all my friends about it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent historical drama

I thoroughly enjoyed this. It's an excellent historical story about an area of history that is not very well known in the UK (certainly not over the course of my education anyway!) with a compelling modern story woven through. Performance is great also.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect read before my Spanish holiday

It is not just a love story book but a lot more in depth than what I expected... the stories contains surprises and well narrated from different characters’ angle
Really worth a read, and you will only find the truth until the end...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful

I wasn’t sure about this book when I downloaded it but I’m glad I did. Great story. Different and nice to have it set in somewhere other than south of France or Tuscany.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another brilliant story

Karen Swan does it again with her complex but likeable female protagonists. The story would be fascinating even without the modern day 'end game' romance. The historical element is powerful and details the Spanish Civil War well but does not distract from the characters personal journeys. I love each one of Swans heroines and that they have interesting jobs. I am always so sad to come to the end of Karen Swans boom as I just want to dive into the story and stay there. This one was also heart breakingly beautiful in so many ways.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Absolutely loved this book. Incredible unexpected storyline . Brilliant historical context. Very clever characterisation. Not at all what I was expecting but one of my favourite audible listens of the year . Can’t recommend highly enough. Definitely don’t be put off by the deceptively twee cover

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful....

Such a lovely, moving and interesting story. The narration by Yolanda Kettle was superb! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and didn’t want it to end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!