Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Silent Patient cover art

The Silent Patient

By: Alex Michaelides
Narrated by: Louise Brealey, Jack Hawkins
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Housemaid cover art
Verity cover art
What Lies Between Us cover art
Never Lie cover art
Keep It in the Family cover art
When You Find Me cover art
Tell Me Lies cover art
Stranger in the Woods cover art
Before She Knew Him cover art
Only Daughter: A gripping and emotional psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist cover art
I, Witness cover art
Sisters and Lies cover art

Summary

With over three million copies sold, listen to the Sunday Times and number one New York Times bestselling, record-breaking thriller that everyone is talking about - soon to be a major film.

Alicia Berenson lived a seemingly perfect life until one day six years ago.

When she shot her husband in the head five times.

Since then she hasn't spoken a single word.

It's time to find out why.

The Silent Patient is the gripping must-listen debut thriller of 2020 - perfect for fans of The Woman in The Window by A.J. Finn and The Girl Before by JP Delaney.

©2019 Alex Michaelides (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

Featured article: The top trending BookTok audiobooks


For audiobook lovers, nothing comes close to the feeling of stumbling upon a new favourite adventure, love story, or thriller. Finding that new favourite is now easier than ever! The world of BookTok is overflowing with audiobooks ready to become your new obsession....

Critic reviews

"The perfect thriller." (A. J. Finn)

"Terrific." (The Times, Crime Book of the Month)

"Smart, sophisticated suspense." (Lee Child)

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Silent Patient

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5,199
  • 4 Stars
    2,194
  • 3 Stars
    806
  • 2 Stars
    195
  • 1 Stars
    107
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5,260
  • 4 Stars
    1,586
  • 3 Stars
    518
  • 2 Stars
    120
  • 1 Stars
    70
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,552
  • 4 Stars
    1,897
  • 3 Stars
    757
  • 2 Stars
    210
  • 1 Stars
    120

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous read

I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a psychological thriller. written and narrated excellently, give it a listen!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Mesmerizing

I adored the narrator soothing voice Story was excellent soo many twists on still reeling Not sure what else to say without spoilers it's so addictive

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Overall enjoyed

Great, well written book. Four stars as let down, in my opinion, by a rather incredulous ending

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Raw and Riveting.

This is one of the most incredible books I have read. It left me shook to the core!
The narration is brilliant.
I don't want to say too much I want the reader to ride the same rollercoaster as myself.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read!

What a beautiful tale. It took a surprising turn and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Will definitely look out for more books by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Enjoyed every chapter, start to finish! Was unsure when recommended but now understand why. Excellent read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good

good listen, descent narration, defiantly worth a listen x X X X X X x

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

I don’t really want to give anything away, so I won’t say much other than it was an easy and enjoyable listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • wj
  • 18-03-21

surprising conclusion

A really good 'read.' Initial chapters were, for me, somewhat confused but then horoughly enjoyable once the story got going. Surprising twists.
Narration could have been better.
Overall a good read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great twisty listening

thoroughly enjoyed this twisting thriller with a very unexpected ending, well worth a second listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!