Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Fire Killer

  • DI Barton, Book 5
  • By: Ross Greenwood
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (877 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Fire Killer cover art

The Fire Killer

By: Ross Greenwood
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Snow Killer cover art
The Complete George Smiley Radio Dramas cover art
Watermelon cover art
Death on Cromer Beach cover art
Broadland cover art
He Is Watching You cover art
Outback cover art
My Perfect Daughter cover art
Hunted cover art
Hunter cover art
Prisoner cover art
Survivor cover art
Silent Child cover art
Open Season cover art
A Bad Bad Thing cover art
The Murderer's Son cover art

Summary

The new thriller from bestselling author Ross Greenwood.

When DI Barton is asked to investigate a seemingly innocuous fire that kills, he believes it's either children fooling around or a worrying racially motivated crime.

As he delves deeper into the case, he soon realises that there is a history of similar blazes spread out over many years, all within a close area. An idea suggested by pathologist Mortis makes Barton suspect he has the arsonist’s motives wrong.

When a night worker comes forward with a tip, Barton narrows down the suspects. But with all of them acting suspiciously, he knows for sure that one or more of them must be lying. And when a huge house blaze shocks everyone, Barton fears the killer has lost all control.

Who is the Fire Killer? What will be next to burn?

DI Barton is back as Ross Greenwood continues with his bestselling series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Ian Rankin.

©2022 Ross Greenwood (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"A masterclass in crime fiction." (Jane E James)

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist." (Richard Burke)

"Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle with believable characters that's spiced with a lot of humour." (Kath Middleton)

What listeners say about The Fire Killer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    612
  • 4 Stars
    193
  • 3 Stars
    52
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    652
  • 4 Stars
    120
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    550
  • 4 Stars
    178
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding

another brilliant book by Ross Greenwood they just get better and better highly recommended

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Always a catch

With Ross Greenwood there’s always a catch you don’t see coming , great read/ listen , great characters that lend themselves to a great story line , stand aside Peter James, Peter Robinson there’s a new crime writer in town and he’s from the Boro 😁

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just brilliant

Such a great narrator and of course the story was gripping. Cannot wait for the next instalment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good listen

This was a good listen, although rather more complicated than the previous stories in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

I have enjoyed listening to this book and will be looking forward to the next one

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another cracking book!!

We’re back with DI Barton and the gang exploring yet more unsavoury characters.

I love Roses Greenwood’s style of building a story you think you know only to shatter it with a different twist!
I really enjoy this series and I’m looking forward to the next one.

A great read with characters who you feel you’ve come to know through the series.

I’d love to see this as a tv series!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thought provoking

Another compelling listen from Ross Greenwood. Suspense, action and always the unexpected. Well done to DI John Barton and the team for unravelling this case. Can't wait for the next instalment. This book is just in your collection. Thank you Ross.........

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The fire killer

I have read all the books since I first read the snow killer, I find them very well written and I love the little humours comments they made me laugh, also I enjoy the fact that the life of the Di Barton continues in each book and I find him very likeable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rapidly becoming one of my favourite authors.

I have listened to all of the DI Barton books now and really enjoying the series. Well written and great local accent from narrator, I lived around Peterborough for 22 years and it adds to the story when you know the roads and places visited.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

worth while

not as good as his previous books, but had an unexpected twist in the tail

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!