Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Centurions

  • The Centurions 1
  • By: Damion Hunter
  • Narrated by: Andrew Kingston
  • Length: 15 hrs and 24 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Centurions cover art

The Centurions

By: Damion Hunter
Narrated by: Andrew Kingston
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Emperor's Games cover art
Shadow of the Eagle cover art
The Wall at the Edge of the World cover art
The Legions of the Mist cover art
The Capsarius cover art
Emperor's Sword cover art
Marius' Mules I: The Invasion of Gaul cover art
The Fort cover art
Wounds of Honour: Empire I cover art
The Wall cover art
The Great Game cover art
Blood Feud cover art
Warrior: The Epic Story of Caratacus, Warrior Briton and Enemy of the Roman Empire cover art
English Knight cover art
Sword for Hire cover art
Daughter of War (Knights Templar) cover art

Summary

Against the mighty splendour of the glorious Roman Empire, unfolds the magnificent new saga, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden.

Correus and Flavius. Half-brothers, sons of a brilliant general. One, son of a slave woman, is a born warrior destined to excel. The other, a nobleman by birth, must struggle relentlessly to succeed.

When they both join the Centuriate, a position Flavius has always known he will inherit, and one that Correus has long coveted, it is together that they face the brutal reality of war. Fighting German barbarians will prove dangerous, not only to their bodies but to their souls as well...

The Centurions, book one in this epic Roman adventure trilogy, is perfect for Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane's fans.

Damion Hunter is a pseudonym of Amanda Cockrell. Along with the Centurions Trilogy, she is also the author of Pomegranate Seed, What We Keep Is Not Always What Will Stay, the historical trilogies The Deer Dancers and The Horse Catchers, and The Legions of the Mist, a Roman historical adventure novel. She lives in Roanoke, Virginia.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about The Centurions

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping and Exciting Story

I knew that story was really good as I had read the novel in the early 80's and again 20 years ago. As soon as I saw it had recently been released in Audio; I immediately ordered it.
It is a different experience listening to the audio version; but the story continued to keep me riveted until the end.
The book (and the others in the Trilogy) explore a number of themes such as slavery, the training of Roman Soldiers, military strategy and the German Culture around AD 72. It is also a love story.
The story follows the adventures of a pair of Roman brothers; one free-born and one slave-born as they serve in the Roman legions. Their father was a successful Roman General whose sons where born the same year. He decided to give the same education and military training to both of them. His mistress's son was born to be a soldier and the story, in many ways revolves around him. After the father freed and adopted the slave son; they both trained together to be Roman Officers.
I really hope that the sequel "Barbarian Princess" is released in audio soon. It is just as good as the first one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 02-10-21

Very poor! Avoid

This may well be a good book but sadly I never got to find out, I tried it for 4 hours listening but it is let down by the absolutely pathetic narration.
You never get the feel of the story as the way it is narrated is more like story time at primary school.
It seems once again Audible have picked someone who does not and cannot express the story to keep you interested, just agreed to anyone that says they can narrate and employed them regardless.
The narrator would be better off doing voice overs for shampoo adverts and keep well away from audiobooks.
Shame really as it’s the first in a trilogy and if the first book is anything to go by then I’ll not be bothering with the next two.
I’m a big fan of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane etc- but they have narrators who can hold an audience and bring a story to life.
This book probably took a lot of time , effort and research to write only to be let down badly at the end by such a dire performance on audiobook.
Audible editors - start earning your wages and stop just taking a days pay!
There’s a big difference.
I’m sure you have ears that work maybe you should remove the ear plugs before commissioning such a disaster - I hope you’ve sent a massive apology to the author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful