Listen free for 30 days

  • Emperor's Sword

  • The Imperial Assassin 1
  • By: Alex Gough
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.79

Buy Now for £11.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A desolate wasteland. A mission gone wrong. An impossible goal.

Roman scout, Silus, is deep behind enemy lines in Caledonia. As he spies on a raiding party, he is abruptly discovered by an enemy chief and his son. Mounting a one-man ambush, everything quickly goes wrong and Silus must run for his life, the head of the enemy leader in his hands. Little does he know the price he will pay...

As Silus is inducted into the Arcani, an elite faction of assassins and spies, he must return to Caledonia and risk everything in the service of his Caesar. The odds don’t look good. But failure is not an option.

A blood-soaked and unputdownable thriller set in Ancient Rome, anchored in detailed historical research, perfect for fans of Ben Kane, Conn Iggulden and Robert Fabbri.

Alex Gough is an author of historical fiction adventures set in Ancient Rome. The Carbo Chronicles, including Watchmen of Rome and Bandits of Rome are the culmination of a lot of research into the underclasses of the time.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

Critic reviews

Gritty and real, exciting and pacy, this is first-rate historical fiction, and Gough is clearly ready to take his place among the leading writers of the genre.
-- SJA Turney, author of the "Praetorian" series.

What listeners say about Emperor's Sword

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed this.

Difficult to be on the side of the Romans. What did they ever do for us after all? Thought Silas was a thoroughly dislikeable character but perhaps that was the intent? Not sorry I bought this but I won't be bothering with the sequels.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not sure

I don’t know what to make of this new series yet. We are constantly being told that our hero is that the Romans have and yet he and little mate mess up every mission they’re sent on. It was enjoyable enough though.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-02-22

This book is junk

This book is junk, the story line makes no logical sense. The hero's actions are once taken by no rashenal person.