Listen free for 30 days

  • The Border Wolves

  • The Centurions 4
  • By: Damion Hunter
  • Narrated by: Andrew Kingston
  • Length: 14 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £11.79

Buy Now for £11.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The final thrilling tale of the House of Appius Julianus.

A new and deadly threat has emerged at the outskirts of the Roman Empire on the Danube, one that threatens to throw the entire region into chaos.

Correus, risen to prefect of a cavalry ala on the border, and Flavius, advisor to the emperor, have both attempted to warn the erratic Domitian of the seriousness of this foe, but to no avail.

With trouble at home in the form of an irate senator, as well as the impending doom of a devastating military loss, the two brothers must use their accumulated experience, grit and trust in each other to ensure their family’s safety, once and for all.

The final book in the epic Centurions series, and the first installment for almost forty years, a moving and powerful adventure, and a must-read for all historical fiction fans, ideal for readers of Conn Iggulden, Rosemary Sutcliff and Simon Scarrow.

Damion Hunter is a pseudonym of Amanda Cockrell. Along with the Centurions Trilogy, she is also the author of Pomegranate Seed, What We Keep Is Not Always What Will Stay, the historical trilogies The Deer Dancers and The Horse Catchers, and The Legions of the Mist, a Roman historical adventure novel. She lives in Roanoke, Virginia.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about The Border Wolves

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Sequel to a wonderful Trilogy!

The Border Wolves was just published this year. It is the final book following three books written in the 1980's. The first two of these books "The Centurions" and "The Barbarian Princess" are really good. (Audible has just released "The Centurions"). It would be good to start with that book first. However, this one can be read as a stand alone.
A Retired General of the Roman Army Appius Julianus has two sons born the same year. Both go to train as Centurions. The Slave born son, Correus was born to be a soldier and later an inspirational Combat Leader and the Julianus heir, Flavius becomes a diplomat and confident to the Emperor. The Border Wolves explores these talented young Centurions being challenged in a way that brings out the best in both. The book is full of bloody battles and Imperial intrigue in a campaign against Dacia and unrest on the border with the Germanic tribes.
This book takes awhile to get into the really good stuff. However, once the action starts; it is a fun, roller coaster ride.
It has great ending! I highly recommend the whole series.