Listen free for 30 days

  • The Age of Hysteria: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller

  • The Age of Embers Series, Book 2
  • By: Ryan Schow
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
  • Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Age of Hysteria: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller cover art

The Age of Hysteria: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller

By: Ryan Schow
Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The second book in the highly acclaimed Age of Embers series is here and advanced listeners are gushing! Brace yourself for the next installment of this thrilling new post-apocalyptic adventure series by best-selling author, Ryan Schow! The Age of Hysteria is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Jack Hunt, Mike Kraus, Bobby Akart and Harley Tate.

If you’re between a rock and a hard place, choose the rock...

Pinned down in a hot zone with a woman he’s not even sure he likes, Roque “Rock” Dimas is herded into the fiery center of an extinction-level event where only two choices exist: run for your life, or burrow in to the last place anyone sane would go and confront the enemy directly. The problem is, one man against a multitude of threats just isn’t enough...

Locked down on the outskirts of the emerging Chicago wasteland, a more nefarious conflict is brewing, one between Fire Dimas and a ruthless human trafficker with an axe to grind. In the high-stakes game of kidnappers and assassins, Fire and his brother, Ice, will tear the world apart to get what’s theirs, but will that be enough?

Welcome to the next evolution of high-octane, post-apocalyptic survival fiction! The Age of Hysteria is filled with fully-developed characters you’ll love and want to know, big apocalyptic action, a splash of humor and the kind of nail-biting suspense that rarely lets up. Grab yourself a double-dose of caffeine, find a quiet place and buckle up - the fun is just about to start!

Note: The Age of Embers series can be listened to as a stand alone series or in addition to The Last War series. Both of these series are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap. With tens of millions of pages read, more than 70000 (audio)books sold, and hundreds of five star reviews, The Complete Last War Series is the perfect compliment to The Age of Embers series.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

Critic reviews

“Epic apocalyptic read with compelling characters! Ryan knows how to write action and suspense. But where he truly shines is the flawed, complex, broken but resolute heroes and heroines he creates. Dare I say that I loved the characters in this book even more than The Last War series-and that’s saying something. These characters are embroiled in deep, high-stakes problems before the apocalypse even starts. How their journeys entwine with the oncoming, world-ending disaster makes for great fiction.” (Kyla Stone, author of the best-selling The Last Sanctuary series)

What listeners say about The Age of Hysteria: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another excellent book

The series continues to be excellent. There is often gritty and violent subject matter. I sometimes got confused by all the different characters but that may be just me!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul
  • Paul
  • 19-12-19

So-so plot

The lack of realism in the plot distracted from the immersion. I listened to the first two books, but I won't waste a credit on the third.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roy C
  • Roy C
  • 03-12-19

1st one was good. This one, hard to finish.

Way too much inward reflection of feelings. Seemed like some whole chapters were about how characters feel about things.. Not bad, just tedious. Like a TV series where nothing gets resolved and new problems are created to keep you there. Didn't work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa
  • Teresa
  • 12-10-19

OMG! Scary Shit!

The reality this story portrays makes my heart shudder and my bones quake! Are we prepared? Can we survive? Do we have what it takes?
Will we just go screaming into the night?
Ryan has done an awesome job of entertaining....or warning? Depending on how you take this story. Awesome read! Well worth the money! Grab this series if you think you can handle it!
Bravo Ryan! Can’t wait for the next!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brawl Brewer
  • Brawl Brewer
  • 07-10-19

Exciting

The story flows very well and the characters fully developed. I found myself rooting for the main character and carried along the emotional Rollercoaster of the story. I would definitely recommend this book to friends and family.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 23-09-22

one of the best

loved it one of the best series
very well thought out.
this author is one of the best end times authors I've read and listened to.
Mr schow you getting close to beating Mr Abrams

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ThaMimi
  • ThaMimi
  • 27-05-22

Another Fine Tale

Ryan Schow definitely did not disappoint and an excellent performance by Kevin Pierce as usual! can't wait to delve into the next one!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob C
  • Rob C
  • 15-07-21

Good story line. A little predictable.

Great narraration by Kevin Pierce... again.
As this story progresses, some of the situations are a little predictable. Definitely the outcomes. but it is a great apocalyptic fantasy action thriller none the less. Why are the drones just watching. Who's in control. I mean really in control... I'll have to read the next one to find out i guess. Usually by 2 books in touch know who the characters are... Still waiting.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for arley r earnest
  • arley r earnest
  • 15-01-21

An excellent performance by Kevin Pearce.

Mr. Pearce's performance can make any book sound exciting. However there are still issues within this book that need better research.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.Brock
  • J.Brock
  • 17-05-20

Very complicated Apocalyptic plot

Ryan Schow has tried to cram every possible scenario in the Age of Embers. There is Fire Dumas and his personal war with a human trafficker that is going on while Chicago burns. And there are other such subplots, but the the book is centered on Fire's viewpoint, it's in first person. That makes it a little confusing. All in all, it's action packed and full throttle. There is never a dull moment. So one can overlook the crowded plot because of this. Kevin Pierce's narration keeps the pacing just right. Without him, it wouldn't work. He makes the story come to life. On to book three.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara
  • Barbara
  • 07-05-20

Excellent

This series does not fail to impress. Characters have a lot of depth. Excellent Read.