Listen free for 30 days

  • The Age of Embers (A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller)

  • The Age of Embers, Book 1
  • By: Ryan Schow
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An Amazon all-star recipient! Fresh off the highly acclaimed The Last War Series, comes a gripping new tale of the apocalypse from bestselling author, Ryan Schow. The Age of Embers Series is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Bobby Akart, Jack Hunt, Nicholas Sansbury Smith, Mike Kraus, and Harley Tate.
 

The end is almost here, are you ready?

A high-tech nightmare. A crippling attack on America and her infrastructure. Are humans in their final days? When a sudden, unexplained spasm of violence rocks the country from coast to coast, when our military is hijacked and the president can’t be found, the survivors will be left to wonder if this is the start of a new world war, or if this is the last chapter of humanity itself.

Undercover DEA agent, Fire Dimas, is drowning in problems: an unrelenting job, a difficult marriage and a teenage daughter with suitors of the worst kind. Then there’s the cartel he double-crossed and the “incident” at the high school. To say he’s in way over his head is the understatement of the century. Rest assured though, for Fire and his family, it’s about to get much, much worse. The assault has already begun....

Eliana Gutierrez and her niece, Carolina, are stolen by the Guatemalan cartel and swallowed into the dark world of human trafficking until a brutal crime separates them. Eliana must now use the deadly trafficking lines to trek up through Mexico and into America in search of the only person she ever loved. Along the way, she’ll come face-to-face with a handsome, rancorous hitman who will either be her salvation or her bitter end. Under the cover of a post-apocalyptic nightmare, Eliana will risk life and limb for the child, but will it be enough?

The Age of Embers is a post-apocalyptic survival series written inside the universe of the best-selling The Last War series. This edge-of-your-seat thriller chronicles the harrowing journey of ordinary people trapped in an encroaching dark age. Get ready for characters you'll want to know in real life, big post-apocalyptic action and a no-holds-barred action/adventure series that just might hit a little too close to home.

Note: The Age of Embers and subsequent books can be listened to as a stand alone series or in addition to The Last War series. Both stories are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

What listeners say about The Age of Embers (A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Private
  • Private
  • 02-09-19

If You Enjoy This Genre, You May Enjoy This Book

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

I’m going to be honest, this book was too much for me. I think if you enjoy this genre, as I do, and can take it’s graphic nature;, which I could not; you may enjoy it. The writing is excellent, and character development is awesome. It triggers strong emotions, and is intelligently told. My issue is that I can’t get past sexual violence. Perhaps I’ll reflect back and see things differently, but right now... having just finished the book... I can say that I wish I’d not listened to it. Since there is no warning in the description, I feel compelled to write a review that implores anyone unable to handle this (such as me)... please don’t listen to this book.

Again, the story is gripping, and so well written. The writer is so very talented. If you can handle what I clearly could not, please do listen to this book.

Narration is perfect, sound quality is pristine. This narrator is the gold standard in this genre for good reason. Listen to his narrations, he is just awesome.

45 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jayde
  • Jayde
  • 25-08-19

A Wild Thrill Ride During SHTF

If you are looking for just another SHTF story this is not it.
In no way is this your typical SHTF story. The SHTF piece is just the background for this excellent thrill ride that will keep you up all night just finishing the story.

First off this is pretty much at least four or five stories in one. Of course all are told concurrently and eventually coming together by the end. Speaking of the end, this story is wrapped up nicely then adds a cliffhanger (although expected) ending to lead on in the series.

There has been no monster solar flare causing EMP like damage to our electronics.
There is no massive world killing monster of disease.
There has been no EMP… yet. If it happens we will do it to ourselves, on purpose.
The lights are still on.
The water is still on.
People are still going to work.

But…

Suddenly people are dead or dying all over the U.S.
The President is nowhere to be seen.
The military is MIA
Our Military’s own War Drones are blowing up buildings in all major cities.
Many Drones are shooting machine guns at anything that moves. And Military Drones find it hard to miss.

And that’s just the background for this story!

The story begins with an undercover DEA agent trying to stuff the bodies of the three men he has just killed in the trunk of his beater Hemi Challenger while trying to talk himself out of the idea that he has totally screwed and has just ruined his career and his life. Of course it all goes downhill from there.

Another story starts in Honduras with a young girl whose father wanted boys instead of useless beautiful girls. He tells her “one day you are going to be raped and it will change your life.” Bet you can’t guess where this little girl is going in life.

We have another story of a hacker living upstairs doing a somewhat legitimate business with his Grandmother downstairs in a wheelchair that can’t not pay attention to the arguing neighbors and keeps going out on the front porch with her shotgun.

And an overpaid security guard at a University campus guarding the server room for a government project.

If any of this sounds interesting, it’s too late. You are already hooked.
Ryan Schow has created an engaging thrill ride that you just can’t put down.
Add in Kevin Pierce as narrator and this is a book not to be missed.

Now Where’s the next book in the series?

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for hamandeggs74
  • hamandeggs74
  • 03-09-19

Very gritty and explicit, BUT SO WORTH IT!

Kevin pierce is one of my favorite readers! ANOTHER GREAT JOB KEVIN!!

I love dystopian fiction, especially SHTF stuff. So this book is new author to me and overall its good! LOTS OF VULGARITY, but still worth a listen. Author has characters that have depth and a couple of them are awesome! (Fire and ice).
Schow has a twist on the normal SHTF with silver queen. It’s good!
This is a decent story and I will read what the author comes out with next!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Primonate
  • Primonate
  • 03-10-19

Soooo Dark, So well performed, So well executed

This is THE darkest post apoc book I have ever read and I have read a few shelves of them. For. a genre based on the end of civilization to find a new layer of dark was unexpected. I believe the singularity and H+ are our future hopefully we can postpone it to give ourselves more time than in thos series but it is coming and this book certainly renders a solid possible scenario. Kevin Pierce nailed yet another solid gold performance.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D.Streeter
  • D.Streeter
  • 03-09-19

Incredible Story

I absolutely love this story. Ryan Schows character development is excellent. I love and hate some of these characters. Kevin Pierce does an amazing job bringing this story to life.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Randy C Miller
  • Randy C Miller
  • 01-01-20

Regret buying

7 chapters about how much he regretted his life????? Boring and a pain to listen to.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CM Welch
  • CM Welch
  • 08-10-19

Something different

I quite enjoyed this book. It is a different take on a SHTF type of story. It covers a lot of ground from cartel criminals, cops and family, to surviving the threat posed by artificial intelligence. I'm hooked and looking forward to the next book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dtwn92
  • Dtwn92
  • 04-10-19

Excellent and different

Kevin is, as always, amazing.
This is my favorite genre, this is the most captivating book I've read in this genre. This is not, lights go out and guy walks home type series. This is sci-fi, which, face it they all are. There is, however, is a few demons (not literal) coming to the surface while the event that sends the nation into SHTF. While taking care of the demons the characters cross lines which you think are unrecoverable.
This is a book worthy of time and I can NOT wait for the rest of the series to be released.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maly C
  • Maly C
  • 03-09-19

Different but good

Well an Emp, virus, nor nuclear war isn't destroying the earth and killing everyone and everything. Different way of ending everything and I really enjoyed it. I am hoping that there will be a sequel as the ending leaves us hanging. Narrator as always did a fantastic job. Great book and well worth the money.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HERBERT
  • HERBERT
  • 19-11-19

To x rated

Not what I thought it was gonna be.
Ain’t going to hell over this crap

2 people found this helpful