Listen free for 30 days

  • Murder in the Village

  • DI Hillary Greene, Book 4
  • By: Faith Martin
  • Narrated by: Gemma Dawson
  • Length: 6 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (95 ratings)

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Murder in the Village cover art

Murder in the Village

By: Faith Martin
Narrated by: Gemma Dawson
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Fatal Obsession cover art
The Vicarage Murder cover art
The Birthday Mystery cover art
A Fatal End cover art
An English Garden Murder cover art
Say It With Poison, Mitchell and Markby Village, Book 1 cover art
The Railway Detective cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
Murder in Tuscany cover art
Murder by the Minster cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
Death at the Auction cover art
The Crossing cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
Grimm Up North cover art
Evans Above cover art

Summary

'Well, he’s dead', Doc Partridge said flatly, making a note of the time […] death occurred due to a blow or blows to the head.

Looking for a brilliant best-selling murder mystery with a feisty female detective? Then meet DI Hillary Greene, a policewoman struggling to save her career and catch criminals.

A would-be politician is found battered to death in the kitchen of his expensive home in a lovely Oxfordshire village. His wife’s alibi is full of holes and there’s another woman in the background. And what about his seemingly mild-mannered political rival? DI Hillary Greene tries to get to the bottom of this perplexing murder. She certainly doesn’t think the prime suspect is as guilty as everyone thinks. Just as she’s about to make a breakthrough, everything is turned upside down by a fatal development in another case she is working on....

Can Hillary find the murderer and will she survive a brush with one of Oxford’s most dangerous criminals?

This crime mystery will have you gripped from start to finish.

Murder in the Village is the fourth in a series of crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.

The location: the picturesque village of Lower Heyford, set in North Oxfordshire's Cherwell Valley, nestles close to the Cotswolds, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Farming country, the village has been in existence in one form or another for over a thousand years, providing a natural 'ford' for oxen over the river since medieval times. A mix of thatched and old stone and slate cottages, it is home to local families and rich 'incomers' alike. It's proximity by train to both London and Birmingham make it a very desirable place to live indeed, and both the Oxford canal and the river Cherwell run close to it, making it haven for walkers, boaters and wildlife.

The detectives: DI Hillary Greene An attractive woman in her 40s, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, 'Mellow' Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence. DCI Philip 'Mellow' Mallow Mel appreciates Hillary's first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn't happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he's determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.

Please note: this is a revised edition of a book first published as By a Narrow Majority.

Discover your next favourite mystery series now, because once you start, you won’t want to stop. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter or Ruth Rendell.

Faith Martin has been writing for over 25 years, in four genres and under four pen names. She was born in Oxford and sets most of her crime novels within sight of the city of dreaming spires.

©2017 Faith Martin (P)2018 Tantor Audio

What listeners say about Murder in the Village

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Another excellent Hilary Green book - I am totally addicted to this series. Great characters, great plot line and great resolution.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

narration vastly improved

at last the narrator got very little wrong which made the book very enjoyable as it should be

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but badly read

Terrible reading! Mispronounced lots of words noticed in others too a pity as good story

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read, poor listen

Started this great series on Kindle and really enjoyed every aspect . Needed to travel so uploaded audible version. Clear diction but considering so many male characters the narrators voice seemed almost the same for the narration plus the female characters and also the male ones. Almost ruined it with the lack of variety in the voice narration. maybe i was spotted c recently with a narrator who had huge capacity for different voices Happy I went back to reading it. Plots are clever and three office dynamic is interesting

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story..

..but let down by the narrator somewhat. Really getting to know the characters though and that adds depth..

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

Well written and nicely read. I really like Faith Martins books and will definitely be back for more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murder in the Village

I enjoyed this book. I’ve read all of them and all are well worth reading. Gemma Dawson does a very good job of the narration. Now they accompany me while I cook!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love these great listens

I read such a lot of books that I have to keep finding new authors. Every so often I find an author I have to keep getting, and Faith Martin is one of these. I can't wait to buy more in this series. Brilliantly narrated.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good read

I am loving this series the main woman is very good and she is very believable looking forward to more of her

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Poor

There really is no other way to describe the narration of this book. The person sounds disinterested and hurried with only the saving grace being the dialogue sections. The only way I can get through is by slowing down the speed on the app. Shame because I always enjoy the characters and stories of these books.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!