Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
A Fatal End cover art

A Fatal End

By: Faith Martin
Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Oxford, 1963

In a backstreet club, people dance the night away to their favourite band. But behind the scenes there is trouble afoot. An argument is brewing between bandmembers, two possessive girlfriends have plans for their partners the club manager is creaming off profits—and a tragic accident leaves the lead singer dead.

But was it an accident at all? Coroner Clement Ryder is suspicious, and WPC Trudy Loveday knows there’s only one thing for it. She’s going undercover, deep into the seedy underbelly of Oxford nightlife.

Meanwhile Clement’s own secret is becoming increasingly difficult to keep hidden, and discovering the singer’s murderer might not be the only shock in store for Trudy…

An unstoppable murder mystery perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, LJ Ross and Val McDermid!

©2022 Faith Martin (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about A Fatal End

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Another great investigation for our Coroner and young police woman .
Enjoyed every book of this series and this didn’t disappoint. I do hope we get more ….even if changes are afoot !
I didn’t see the identity of the perpetrator coming at all !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and great characters

This was probably the best of the series. Love the characters and a good story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ktroy
  • ktroy
  • 15-03-23

Boring

Over and over. What one person is considering, thinking, reminiscing…dear lord, let’s just get on with the plot already. Faith is usually much better than this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NanaJ
  • NanaJ
  • 04-02-23

Sad to hear the last book

Such a great series read by a very talented reader. I’m looking forward to reading more by Faith.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 13-07-22

So good.

The Sixties, the new music scene, and a possible murder. What not to like?

This eighth book in the series has been my favorite so far. I hope it’s not the end because the author left many opportunities for subsequent stories.

The narration was well done by Stephanie Racine again.