Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Bookshop owner Flora Steele escapes the sleepy English village of Abbeymead through the adventures in the stories she sells. Until one morning, everything changes when she discovers a body amongst her own bookshelves....

The young man with the shock of white-blond hair lay spread-eagled on the floor, surrounded by fallen books. His hand reached out to the scattered pages, as though he was trying to tell her something. 

But who is he? How did he come to be killed in Flora’s ordinary little bookshop? Flora finds out he was staying at the Priory Hotel, and when the gardener suddenly dies in its beautiful grounds only a few days later, she is certain that something untoward is happening in her quiet village by the sea. 

But are the two deaths connected? And is someone at the hotel responsible - the nervous cook, the money-obsessed receptionist, or the formidable manageress? 

Determined to save her beloved bookshop’s reputation and solve the murder mystery, Flora enlists the help of handsome and brooding Jack Carrington: crime writer, recluse and her most reliable customer. 

As the unlikely duo set about investigating the baffling case, guilty faces greet them at every door. And they soon realise there’s more than one person hiding secrets in Abbeymead....

The start of a brand-new murder mystery series featuring bookshop owner Flora Steele and crime writer Jack Carrington. Fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis will love this perfect cozy murder mystery novel. An utterly addictive story that will have you guessing until the very end.

©2021 Merryn Allingham (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Bookshop Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen!

I really enjoyed listening to this book! Great characters, great story that kept me guessing till the end, great historic content and well read! Now about to start the next one in the series😃

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

I love the narrators voice, she did all the people beautifully. she really drew me in. I was hooked from page 1.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

pleasant

pleasant gentle storeyline ,bit simple but easy listening .
good for bedtime listening if you struggle to get to sleep

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy listening

This was very easy to listen to and enjoyable enough. Not the most enthralling book, however the two main characters are entertaining. The narrator is mildly irritating.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read book

excellent narration - best i’ve heard so far in audible - storyline gripping and believable. A brilliant thriller which kept be engaged throughout

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen

Interesting characters and a good mystery with lots of twists and turns, the narrator is excellent well worth a listen

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Maybe it’s just me . I found it staged and rather lack lustre. Everything took far too long and the story seemed a tad torturous. I found myself irritated and eventually scrolled to the end .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Mystery, fast paced and twists en route!

I bought this to listen to whilst on holiday, & it didn’t disappoint! The story was well thought out, brought to life without trying to hard! Great characters, and the was well read, had a great picture flowing through my mind as I listened. I will definitely lookout for the next in the series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

I took a gamble on this book and it really paid off. I loved it, and will definitely be giving the next one a listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dreary

I won't finish this book. Really bad on all fronts: story, ambience, characters, flow and pace, and the list goes on. The narrator is pretty good, however, but can't save this dead-on-arrival flop.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EveryContinent
  • EveryContinent
  • 30-07-21

Clever cozy mystery with historical snippets

Just what’s needed sometimes. A somewhat feisty heroine and hopefully the start of a series. But certainly not Marple or Poirot!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 21-10-21

More Please!!

I’ve read cozy mysteries for years. It’s so exciting to find a new one to love. This one is absolutely perfect. Hoping for many more books in this series!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for twoseagreeneyes
  • twoseagreeneyes
  • 17-01-22

Good start to a cozy series


In the quiet little town of Abbymead you will find a bookshop, the “All’s Well”. The proprietor Flora Steel has inherited the place from her beloved late Aunt Violet. While Flora does her best to keep the shop running, a dead body found between the stacks has dire effects on business, as well as, of course, the poor young chap lying there dead. Flora senses something is not right with the sudden death and enlists the help of the village recluse and crime author Jack Carrington to delve deeper into the mystery in the hopes of getting business back on track.

The story moves along at a decent pace and keeps you interested. You get a good look at the determination of Flora and for those that like a bit of romance mixed into the mystery there is that as well. There are a few avenues for suspects and motives so the reader has a few theories they can follow. The book does have a nice English cozy feel.

The narrator does a nice job overall. The character voices can be distinguished but not greatly so. The articulation and speed are on point.

I would give this book four stars as I would recommend it to others looking for a nice cozy read that sets the stage for the series. I do like that this is more of a traditional cozy in the sense it is not following the themes of many (such as cooking, knitting, etc)

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-08-21

Disappointment

This was an OK read, nothing memorable. The ending seemed rushed, uninteresting and too romanticized.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for barbara
  • barbara
  • 13-12-21

Series has promise

The story has lots of elements of a good mystery- hidden treasure, a secret room and lost documents from the days of Henry VIII. However just when the plot was rolling along the hero or heroine gets thick headed and makes you want to shake them. They eventually catch onto the obvious but not you’re swearing at them, “Don’t you get it?” Its a little like those You Tube videos where you telling the participants to het on with it

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denota Heiskell
  • Denota Heiskell
  • 07-04-22

Exciting,well read, and oh so interesting! thank

Unexpected friendship development and murder and suspense. Delightful characters, respect and admiration for history, old tales and reading. what more can you ask for? how about an upbeat interesting narrator. yep this book has all that and more. enjoy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for linnea
  • linnea
  • 29-05-22

lovely mystery in a small town in the UK post ww2

I really enjoyed listening to this mystery set in UK post ww2. I could envision the small town and loved the touches of history

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Darcey
  • J. Darcey
  • 20-05-22

I liked it!

Not much of a reviewer but I liked it well enough to miss TV.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Booklass
  • Booklass
  • 01-05-22

Cute first in series

I liked the setting of this story and the two main characters. It's interesting enough that I would consider the next one in the series

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roberta A. Halverson
  • Roberta A. Halverson
  • 20-04-22

cozy mystery

I liked this book and will order more from same author. A little romance, a little mystery. short and sweet