Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Death at the Auction cover art

Death at the Auction

By: E. C. Bateman
Narrated by: Ciaran Saward
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A brilliant whodunnit mystery perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton and Richard Osman!

Murder stalks the cobbles in England’s finest Georgian town...

When an accident forces Felicia Grant back to her family’s auction house in Stamford, she vows it’ll only be a flying visit. But as the gavel falls on the final lot, a hidden secret is revealed—the body of her father’s business rival, murdered during the packed sale!

Soon, Felicia is swept into a mystery that has everyone in the community as a potential suspect―including her.

As the body count rises and with the people she loves under threat, Felicia takes matters into her own hands. But even the most picturesque place has its secrets...

©2022 E. C. Bateman (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Death at the Auction

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good enjoyable gentle Murder Mystery

Really enjoyed listening/ reading this, plenty of good characters brought to life in this Auction room mystery. First the of a series and a great start. Likeable dour Yorkshire Sergeant Pettifer and Felicia Grant eventually get to the bottom of this cosy murder mystery with help from her family and friends Recommend this, great listen by great narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing start to a new series

Very enjoyable book . Great characters with lots of potential .
Overall the plot was quite convoluted…..but satisfying eventually.
One character did seem to suddenly disappear…maybe further to come .
Looking forward to the next book .