Listen free for 30 days

  • Death at the Auction

  • The Stamford Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: E. C. Bateman
  • Narrated by: Ciaran Saward
  • Length: 11 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (166 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Death at the Auction cover art

Death at the Auction

By: E. C. Bateman
Narrated by: Ciaran Saward
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.00

Buy Now for £13.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Cornish Wedding Murder cover art
Father Paolo Baldi Mysteries cover art
Breakneck Point cover art
The Snow Killer cover art
Who Sent Clement? cover art
The Wintringham Mystery cover art
Paul Temple: The Complete Radio Collection: Volume One cover art
The Dinner Lady Detectives cover art
Murder in Tuscany cover art
The Village Hall Vendetta cover art
The Bingo Hall Detectives cover art
Murder by the Minster cover art
The Murder Wall cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
The Body in the Marsh cover art
Maisie Dobbs cover art

Summary

A brilliant whodunnit mystery perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton and Richard Osman!

Murder stalks the cobbles in England’s finest Georgian town...

When an accident forces Felicia Grant back to her family’s auction house in Stamford, she vows it’ll only be a flying visit. But as the gavel falls on the final lot, a hidden secret is revealed—the body of her father’s business rival, murdered during the packed sale!

Soon, Felicia is swept into a mystery that has everyone in the community as a potential suspect―including her.

As the body count rises and with the people she loves under threat, Felicia takes matters into her own hands. But even the most picturesque place has its secrets...

©2022 E. C. Bateman (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

More from the same

What listeners say about Death at the Auction

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The genre ‘Cosy crime’ was made for this book

Perfect. A gentle read. When you’re not into romance novels or tales of women finding themselves, but hardcore murder is a little to gruesome right now…. Death at the Auction is perfect!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Good for insomnia

I do like a cosy crime, but this story was a bit too gentle for my liking. Also, I didn’t relate to the central characters at all, apart from maybe the detective. They were annoying to the max. It all seemed a bit daft and twee. Stars are for the narrator who was excellent and he was the only reason I stuck with it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good enjoyable gentle Murder Mystery

Really enjoyed listening/ reading this, plenty of good characters brought to life in this Auction room mystery. First the of a series and a great start. Likeable dour Yorkshire Sergeant Pettifer and Felicia Grant eventually get to the bottom of this cosy murder mystery with help from her family and friends Recommend this, great listen by great narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great narration

Gentle who dunnit, well narrated with clear differentiation between characters. unfortunately, for me, it didn't hold my attention too well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a surprise!

Wasn’t sure whether I really wanted to get this book but I am so pleased I did. I love the way Ciaran Saward narrated it. A really good murder mystery in my opinion. I will be keen to listen to another by E C Bateman

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I kept falling asleep throughout.

Nothing really fantastic here, I bought it because I was a big fan of the first Thursday murder club and this was a recommendation....frankly I fell asleep a lot and missed nothing of important.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent whodunnit

Interesting characters in a lovely market town setting. Excellent narration. Looking forward to more in this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I really enjoy this type of book has a good story to tell tell but of a more innocent less violent way . Loved listening to the narrator he did an amazing job and complimented the story 100%
Look forward to listening to the next one 😄

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KC
  • 08-06-23

Really enjoyed this one

Was a great opening book, lots of things happening and got to know the characters, will be looking out for next one

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

perfect cosy crime!

i love the characters, the location and auction house setting. Great voice acting too

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful