Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • An English Garden Murder

  • Julia Bird Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Katie Gayle
  • Narrated by: Lucy Scott
  • Length: 6 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (75 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
An English Garden Murder cover art

An English Garden Murder

By: Katie Gayle
Narrated by: Lucy Scott
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Kensington Kidnap cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
The Museum Murder cover art
Death at the Gates cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
A Date to Die For cover art
The Murders at Foxglove Close cover art
A Body in the Village Hall: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Murder Mystery cover art
Murder in Merrywell cover art
The Vicarage Murder cover art
The Murder Mystery cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
The Cornish Wedding Murder cover art
Murder at the House on the Hill cover art
Bodies, Baddies, and a Crabby Tabby: A Bliss Bay Cozy Mystery cover art

Summary

Julia Bird’s picturesque Cotswolds cottage has everything she could want. Rustic charm, cozy fireplaces, and, it turns out, a dead body in the garden....

Recently divorced and reluctantly retired, Julia Bird has fled London to enjoy idyllic rural life in the Cotswolds. Determined to have the perfect English garden, her first job is to tear down the old shed, where she unearths much more than she’d bargained for: a body, apparently buried for decades. But who could it be, and who killed them? The police draw a blank, and even the gossip-fest that is the local book club can’t remember anyone going missing in the village.

Unable to get on with her garden until the mystery is resolved, Julia decides to conduct her own clandestine investigations. So, together with her wayward chocolate Labrador puppy, Jake, Julia begins a whirlwind tour of the local residents. And everyone, it seems, has something to hide in this village. As she gets closer to the truth, Julia uncovers something even more shocking: another body, this time of someone she actually knows.

Determined to unmask the killer and find out what connects the two dead bodies, Julia–newly nicknamed the Grim Reaper–ups the stakes and hones in on the most likely suspect. But if she hasn’t deduced correctly, then there is someone else in the village who has killed twice already. Will they be prepared to make it third time lucky to keep their secret safe?

This cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin, and Betty Rowlands.

©2022 Katie Gayle (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about An English Garden Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyable

This is a cozy, energetic little mystery where the characters are well written and blend well together. The storyline kept me so hooked I finished it within the day..just couldn’t put it down. I’m ready for the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great easy read.

Loved the lead character xx good storyline. Kept me interested to the end. Also loved the overall plot.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely cozy murder mystery

I really enjoyed this murder mystery. The characters are well drawn and the narrator just right. I look forward to reading the next in the series with the same characters to see how they develop.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great characters, story and plot. Really enjoyed it

Really enjoyed this book, likeable and interesting characters, story had me hooked and the narration was superb
Highly recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listening

I enjoyed getting to know Julia and the characters in the village and figuring out what happened along the way

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this cozy book

A really cozy, enjoyable listen. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The story and characters were engaging right from the beginning. If you enjoy cozy crime you'll definitely enjoy this. Excellent narration. and I'm quite fussy with regard to that - 10 out of 10. Have already bought book 2.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

cosy littlle murder story


Absoluty loved this cosy little murder story .Quite amusing in parts, and for me ,the purfect book at bedtime listening.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it nice comfy mystery

Loved this story. A very good comfy Murder mystery. Can’t wait for the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Village life

Enjoyable nice story with a get away from it all feeling . Had a gentle sense of humour running through it. Twists and turns in the mystery of who the village murderer was which kept you guessing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Names are a bit muddled!

Sean O'Connor is an Irish name! Sean Connery was Scottish! I think Katie Gayle needs to research the name's origins before using them in her stories. 🤔 The doctor/ boy friend, Sean O'Connor is supposed to be Scottish I think not Irish? I am enjoying the book however, relaxing as a bedtime read/listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful