Listen free for 30 days

  • Murder at the Priory Hotel

  • A Flora Steele Mystery, Book 4
  • By: Merryn Allingham
  • Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
  • Length: 7 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (65 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Murder at the Priory Hotel cover art

Murder at the Priory Hotel

By: Merryn Allingham
Narrated by: Charlie Norfolk
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Join Flora Steele—bookshop owner, bicycle-rider, and amateur detective—as she faces her most puzzling case yet!

Sussex, 1957: When Flora Steele and handsome crime writer Jack Carrington attend the grand re-opening of the Priory Hotel in the beautiful little village of Abbeymead, their day out is cut short when the flame-haired female singer in the band suddenly drops dead before their eyes.

Flora is stunned by the unexpected turn of events and immediately deduces foul play. Beverly Russo was a spirited young woman with a big voice, and Flora is determined to get to the bottom of her untimely demise—especially as the detective sergeant leading the investigation is so hopeless. The first clue in the extraordinary case is Beverly’s missing ruby ring....

As Flora makes her enquiries, she discovers that Beverly wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea and there’s more than one person in Abbeymead who had reason to dislike her. But who had the biggest motive: Beverly’s former beau Tommy May, jealous love rival Sally Jenner, or the local doctor who seems to be up to no good...

Then one of the suspects is found dead in the woods near the Priory Hotel. The murder weapon—a musical instrument. As the investigation reaches a high note, Flora knows she must find the culprit and make them face the music before anyone else is hurt. But will Flora’s tenacity put a dangerous spotlight on both her and Jack?

A delightful cozy crime novel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis!

©2022 Merryn Allingham (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder at the Priory Hotel

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Satisfying Read

Merryn Allingham’s Flora Steele mysteries are in the best tradition of ‘ cosy mysteries ‘ but with plenty of intrigue to keep you guessing ( especially over her relationship with Jack !)
Much enjoyed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly addictive

Read all the books in order, would recommend this. Characters come to life. Well read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

I've enjoyed this series very much! Gentle stories with little twists to keep it interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loving the series

Loving the series. So please Jack eventually ceased the day. Enjoying the narrator's voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really enjoyable story for a relaxing time!

Merryn Allingham is one of my new favourite authors. The setting is great and the performance by Charlie Norfolk is fantastic. It's easy listening and just a nice time, I've been on holiday in Wales the weather has been amazing, I've been sitting outside in the shade with my feet up with a drink listening to this story on my headphones. it's been wonderful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally they get somewhere

The sleuthing gets more serious and more intense and more interesting and still as it should be the Agatha Christie feel stays to enjoy the village life of bygone times. I like that it’s not all cozy rosy though as life is always hard for some and struggles are always a part of life. A lot of humour though and more and more some wit shines through. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RoseL
  • RoseL
  • 12-10-22

Great stories!

Loved the entire Flora Steele series so far, I can't wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-09-22

love this series, can't wait for more

loved it. the characters and narration are fantastic! keep this series of books coming please.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tanya Doyle
  • Tanya Doyle
  • 31-07-22

Lovely series. Immensely enjoyable!

I’m so glad I happened upon this series. I have enjoyed each book and grown to love the characters. Well worth the read.