Listen free for 30 days

  • Her Sister's Bones: An Absolutely Gripping Crime Thriller

  • Detective Iris Locke, Book 1
  • By: Geraldine Hogan
  • Narrated by: Shelley Atkinson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A baby is snatched from her pram in the garden. She’s never found. Thirty years later, her sister, now a mother herself, is brutally killed.

When Anna Crowe is killed in her sleep alongside her children, the quiet local community of Corbally is shocked. It’s also a chilling reminder of when her sister, Janey, disappeared as a baby, 29 years ago, never to be seen again.

Detective Iris Locke is assigned to the case, and, after a year undercover which ended in failure when her cover got blown, she’s desperate to make her mark - and to live up to the reputation of her ex-cop father, the former head of the Limerick Murder Squad.

Jack Locke ran the investigation into the disappearance of baby Janey. But by reopening the old case, Iris is also reopening old wounds for the team. Can she untangle the dark secrets that lead to one sister vanishing and the other’s death - even if it means digging into the past of someone very close to her?

Fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and L.J. Ross won’t want to miss this - the first book in a gripping new crime series.

©2019 Geraldine Hogan (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Her Sister's Bones: An Absolutely Gripping Crime Thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Rubbish

Started off not too badly but the lapsed into complete and utter madness. Such a silly story and a waste of money !

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling from the start

Shelley Atkinson brought this story to life and pulled you into the mystery and intrigue. Beautifully performed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

crime and it's consequeence

excellent story, well narrated , now using a credit for next in series. Well worth following.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Showed some promise but faltered in the end

Not great by any means some of the characters were mildly interesting. The story was implausible.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ajax
  • Ajax
  • 23-10-19

Amazing!

I loved this book! Well written, suspenseful, hopefully one in a long series of stories!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Walker
  • J. Walker
  • 12-02-20

Particularly like Shelly Atkinson

The strong regional accents are so important. She is fantastic. The next narrator is sanitized.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for surly
  • surly
  • 20-07-22

Predictable plot

It took very little reading to determine the ending. I held out hoping for a plot twist of some kind, but that never materialized. Reader was pleasant, but raced through some of the reading which was a little distracting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zahara
  • Zahara
  • 16-05-22

This book is absolutely incredible!!!

OMG what a lovely surprise this book was! If you are a fan of crime novels with characters that have true substance GET THIS BOOK! I hope the author continues this series. If she does I will buy every one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dawn Dski
  • Dawn Dski
  • 16-05-22

Good so far

I’m enjoying this story and would love to hear the ending…but for some reason the last 40 ish minutes won’t download. Not sure if it’s the book or app, but don’t have this problem with other titles.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bridget S.
  • Bridget S.
  • 14-04-22

Great Irish mystery

Good story, a mystery set in Limerick. Really Loved the authentic accent! So many stories set in Ireland have leaned towards a more English accent or muted the Irish, which is less appealing and authentic.