Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
From the Shadows cover art

From the Shadows

By: G. R. Halliday
Narrated by: Sarah Barron
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Mayfly cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The Missing Ones cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
First Blood cover art
False Start cover art
All the Hidden Truths cover art
Dark Is the Grave cover art
Silent Tide cover art
The One That Got Away cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
See Them Run cover art
One Left Alive: A Heart-Stopping and Gripping Crime Thriller cover art
Return to Evil cover art
Devil's Chimney cover art

Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of From the Shadows by G.R. Halliday. 

A stunning, atmospheric police procedural set against the grit of Inverness and the raw beauty of the Scottish Highlands, this is the first book in the DI Monica Kennedy series.

Sixteen-year-old Robert arrives home late. Without a word to his dad, he goes up to his bedroom. Robert is never seen alive again.

A body is soon found on the coast of the Scottish Highlands. Detective Inspector Monica Kennedy stands by the victim in this starkly beautiful and remote landscape. Instinct tells her the case won’t begin and end with this one death. 

Meanwhile, Inverness-based social worker Michael Bach is worried about one of his clients whose last correspondence was a single ambiguous text message; Nichol Morgan has been missing for seven days.

As Monica is faced with catching a murderer who has been meticulously watching and waiting, Michael keeps searching for Nichol, desperate to find him before the killer claims another victim.

From the Shadows introduces DI Monica Kennedy, an unforgettable new series lead, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves' Vera, Susie Steiner and Peter May. 

©2019 G.R. Halliday (P)2019 Random House Audiobooks

Critic reviews

"G.R. Halliday has created a novel as dark, gripping and atmospheric as the Scottish scenery it inhabits." (Gordon Brown, author of Deepest Wounds)

What listeners say about From the Shadows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Debut

It’s a well-written crime debut. The language is pleasantly terse but not too economical. Characters achieve enough depth to allow for intriguing future instalments. Halliday Refrains from spoonfeeding us information, which is a relief for more attentive listeners; I‘m often bored senseless by crime authors who repeat every clue several times over to pander to distracted audiobook listeners. The touch of cosmic horror is brilliant, I think, invoking a distant sense of the supernatural without actually going anywhere near it. I very much hope Halliday will continue in that vein. The only story problem is a common one for crime debuts: as the story nears its finale the red herrings pile up somewhat unnecessarily and implausibly-and never for long enough for us to actually get misdirected. The story would have been more elegant had Halliday not yielded to the temptation. Having said that, I do very much look forward to the second book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My review

Brilliant book from start to finish.. It was partly due to where I lived that made me buy this... You would be silly not to listen to this book... Its a must buy auditable, The narrators voice kept me listening to this book with suspense.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

From the shadows

A good story but perhaps a little long in parts. Narration was good, clear,. A nice book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good yarn

I enjoyed this book. Narration was fine - didn't get in the way, unlike Angus King's mangling of perfectly good Scottish crime thrillers. Let's hope there are many more!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bleak but excellent!

This is a grim tale of abduction and torture beautifully crafted in it's unrelenting bleakness.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

I listened to all. this book without skipping any because it kept me enthralled not bored

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

I loved this book the opening just hooks you straight away the charaters where brilliant and came to life.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Tried twice

Mainly my problem was the narrator. It might be because I am Scottish too but I just found her voice incredibly irritating. Too posh to swear and dragging the last syllable of the word out just drove me nuts. I was bored listening to her.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So Boringly Read!

Lost the will to live trying to listen to this. There may be a good story underneath but ..... Couldn’t find the button to return it😤.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!