Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Seven friends. A castle in the woods. An uninvited guest....

A thriller perfect for fans of Ruth Ware's In a Dark, Dark Wood and Lucy Foley's The Hunting Party.

Seven friends gather at a castle in the Scottish Borders. One last girls' weekend before Georgina's wedding. Near the castle, through a path in the woods, is a loch. After a few bottles of Prosecco, the girls head down to the water to take photos. The loch is wild, lonely and stunningly beautiful. They set their camera to self-timer and take some group shots. Later, looking back at the pictures, they see something impossible. 

Behind them, eyes wide, a small, drenched boy emerges from the water. 

How did he get there? Where is he now? And what does he want?  

The girls thought they knew each other's darkest secrets, but one of them has been hiding something terrible. Consumed by grief, she's been waiting for the perfect moment to wreak her revenge....

©2021 Elle Connel (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Down by the Water

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dire

The story of a hen party of university friends in a castle in Scotland. I don’t know why I persevered with this tale. None of the women were likeable. All privileged and entitled they droned on. There was a loch involved in which a twin sister had drowned and by the end I wished they had all jumped in the loch especially the bride to be. Her fiancé was the lover of the drowned sister who had borne his child - I think but by this time I was losing the will to live. Sorry it was awful

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

This was a gripping and strange book - strange because I never knew where it was going, and that made it all the more intriguing.
Elle Connel very skilfully sketches this reunion of university friends, and with their brittle, self-conscious conversations you feel early on that they are having to try too hard to enjoy themselves. Why are they at this hen party together at all? And how well do these friends actually know each other?
It looked as if it might turn out a ghost story, or a gothic horror, or a thriller - but that would have been a lesser book!
This was a very satisfying work, beautifully read (although maybe it could have done with less dramatic emphasis on every single use of the word ‘then’) and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 10-07-21

So slow

Ugh...the first 6 hours are the most boring ever. Honestly, how they pronounced puma drove me crazy. Believe me they say that more than you'd expect.
They all really liked doing lines of ketamine.
The weird part about her petting a dog and getting him "excited" could of been cut. The only thing I'll remember about this book is the puma thing and twins.

Just slow, weird, drug fueled nothingness with an unimaginative ending.

1 person found this helpful