Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Sister-in-Law

  • An Utterly Gripping Psychological Thriller
  • By: Sue Watson
  • Narrated by: Diana Croft
  • Length: 10 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (321 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Sister-in-Law cover art

The Sister-in-Law

By: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Diana Croft
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Our Little Lies cover art
First Date cover art
The Woman Next Door cover art
The Empty Nest cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
The Forever Home cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The New Wife cover art
The Resort cover art
The Ex-Wife cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
Too Good to Be True cover art
All Good Things cover art

Summary

"You don't think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything", she smiled. "Including your dirty little secret. So, thinking about it, maybe it's time to start being nice to me?"

The wife: Clare is ready for a break. It's been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it's high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her....

The husband: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he's realised the error of his ways. He's here now, and he says it's for keeps. Clare can trust him, can't she? At least he'll have his brother there, to keep him in line....

The brother: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again, after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he's not alone. He's brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

The sister-in-law: Ella is everything Clare isn't. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there's someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly gripping, twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Girl on the Train, and Date Night.

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5 stars from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

©2020 Sue Watson (P)2020 Bookouture

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Sister-in-Law

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    172
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    14
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well I didn’t see that coming.

Read, read, read.
I loved every moment, couldn’t put it down and literally can’t wait to read it again and again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping story of the sister in law

this is the second book I've listened to by Sue watson. Once I started I couldn't put it down. lots of twists and turns. By the last 10 chapters I would have never expected it to end the way it did. looking forward to my next read from sue.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT. Psychi, relationships, desires, family

The word is: Entertainment.
You just feel like you ARE staying right there at the Taylors' family vacation. And you just wanna watch more of them!
I was really sad when this domestic mystery ended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Leading you into a false sense of security!

Most unexpected ending, with many twists and turns along the way. Gripping to the end and shows how human behaviour can be misunderstood.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen!

a little slow starting for the few few chapters. however when it foes get going you are gripped!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a shock ending

the sister in law was a fantastic book great author sue watson a great listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

ok

it was OK... I guessed one of the twists practically straight away and there was a lot of "fluff" in the middle that went on and on with not much really happening until the last couple of chapters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Okay - but narration not for me

I found the story engaging, but couldn’t listen in too big a timescale due to the narration. The narrator had a sing song style and a bit manic approach and it was not a relaxing listen. The story kept me going and I finally managed to listen to the end this morning.

Summary - story okay, but narration annoying.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Ending.

I'm not easily entertained, but I can honestly say on this occasion I definitely was. The story had a wealth of new turns , the narrator was easy to listen too and I didn't expect for the compiled story ending. Excellent listening.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but really annoying narration

Although a bit slow in places, i enjoyed the story overall. It was a bit unbelievable how all the horrible behaviour went completely unnoticed. The phrase "I looked around to see if anyone noticed what she said, but they were busy doing x,y and z" I felt was pretty overused but aside from that the story was enjoyable. The narration however, was not for me. The accents the narrator put on for the kids and the male characters did my head in. I found it tricky to distinguish Claire from Ella too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!