Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Forever Home

  • By: Sue Watson
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (73 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Forever Home cover art

The Forever Home

By: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Sister-in-Law cover art
First Date cover art
Our Little Lies cover art
The Woman Next Door cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Empty Nest cover art
The New Wife cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Resort cover art
The Inheritance cover art
The Ex-Wife cover art
The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel cover art
The Ex cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
Happily Married cover art

Summary

You thought you’d always be safe there…you were wrong.

Carly had thought they’d always live there. The beautiful Cornish cliffside house they’d taken on as a wreck, that Mark had obsessively redesigned and renovated - a project that had made him famous. It was where they’d raised their children, where they’d sat cozily on the sofa, watching storms raging over the sea below. It was where they’d promised to keep each other’s secrets....

Until now. Because Mark has fallen in love. With someone he definitely shouldn’t have. Someone who isn’t Carly. And suddenly their family home doesn’t feel like so much of a safe haven.

Carly thinks forever should mean forever, though: It’s her home, and she’ll stay there. Even the dark family secrets it contains feel like they belong to her. But someone disagrees. And, as threats start to arrive at her front door, it becomes clear, someone will stop at nothing. Because someone wants to demolish every last thing that makes Carly feel safe. Forever.

A utterly psychological thriller about what lies are hidden in the most beautiful homes. Perfect for fans of Date Night, Gone Girl, and The Woman in the Window.

©2021 Sue Watson (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Forever Home

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not my favourite Sue Watson

I was slightly disappointed after loving her previous titles but it's still worth a listen. it's just a little bit bland in places . I will still watch out for future books however.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyable

I couldn’t stop listening from start to finish! Great story and perfect narration by Tamsin Kennard!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Let down

Rather drawn out and rambling story....didn't add up and felt bit cliched. Enjoyed some of it....but much padding!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Really enjoyed this. Had my heart pounding, sitting on the edge a few times. Even when I thought I knew what was obvious it was something completely different! Brilliant Author

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

magnificent

Great read and always love Tamsin when she narrates. Twists and turns abound . Fab.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Infuriating!

I listen to a lot of psychological / domestic thrillers, so I am no stranger to suspending my disbelief at some of the more outlandish plots or character reasonings, but I’m afraid I had to draw the line at this one.

I rarely post (bad) reviews but this book gave me the inspiration.

(Slight) spoiler alert…

Who, in a first tryst with the local handyman (which in itself is like a Mills & Boon subplot), stops passionate proceedings to open a newly arrived package because if she didn’t she would just be thinking about it?

And who, once said package (which of course contains a maggotty piece of meat) is thrown out the back garden, in a state of horror and hysteria, stops the handyman from using bleach on the maggot surprise because “it will ruin the grass”?

I’ve listened to a number of Sue Watson’s books and always enjoyed them so I was surprised how unbelievable I found this one. It’s a shame because the narrator, Tamsin Kennard is excellent, but even she can’t rescue this for me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

Just terrible! Ridiculous storyline. Vacuous and pathetic characters Boring in fact. Don’t waste a credit on this.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

The forever Home

it is impossible to listen to this. The narrator has the ghastly vocal fry as it is called.. why is this happening. so many actors have it now. So I cannot listen to it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful