Listen free for 30 days

  • The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

  • By: S. E. Lynes
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (181 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel cover art

The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

By: S. E. Lynes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Women: A gripping psychological thriller cover art
The Pact cover art
Mother cover art
Can You See Her? cover art
The Proposal cover art
The Housewarming cover art
Valentina cover art
Her Sister's Secret cover art
The Inheritance cover art
The Ex cover art
The Baby Shower cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
Tucker's Way cover art

Summary

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At 10 years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful listen for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

©2019 S.E. Lynes (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Convincing and compelling

Completely gripping. I switched it off once, because I had to get some sleep, then switched it straight back on again as soon as I woke up. 'The Lies We Hide' shines a light on the horror of domestic violence. Carol and Ted who get together in a Northern town in 1968, make sense. They reflect the pressures, attitudes and influences of their time. Their story, and the story of those affected by Ted's violence, spans decades. Always routed in time and place, 'The Lies We Hide' is convincing and compelling - beautifully written and read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best book I’ve read this year

Lift yourself into the world of fear and trepidation,gripping story line, characters were well chosen, although Graham seemed an old name for a young boy.. narrator was excellent. There’s something in this book for everyone, even a touch Scottish humour from Jim. 5 stars

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Weak

This was described as gripping. That being so , all I can say is it must take more to grip me than most people.
The narration wasn't good but the actual stoyline was weak and silly!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book

A good story but what made it for me was the brilliant narrator. Each character had a distinctive voice .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • V
  • 08-01-20

Underwhelmed and disappointed

Although the subject is a serious one the writing was very superficial. There was no depth to this book. Setting the scene by using product references is completely unnecessary . The accents used in the reading made it seem like a school play. I don't recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lost a lot of sleep listening!

Thoroughly enjoyed and could not stop listening. Characters were so real brought me close to tears many times as they showed a family’s strength and fragility at the same time.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Perfect narration for a twisted story

This is my 4th S E Lynes novel narrated by the splendid vocal chords of Tamsin and as always, with more twists than a corkscrew. Mother is definitely my favourite followed closely by The Housewarming, then Valentina and now this novel so I really must enjoy the authors books. However, I think I need a break from those numerous twists. Just when you think all has been revealed, there is yet another denoument and off we speed in an utterly different direction. So many times when I thought "this is the end" but another chapter began and we are off again. So, if you like such stories then this author is going to give you hours of reading/listening ..... and I challenge you get it right.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

dull story and terrible accents

Gave up listening to it. The story was anything but gripping and the scouse accents were beyond terrible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I love S E Lynes books and have read all the previous ones - but I'm returning this one. It's a family drama story, about the lives of an abused woman, her son and daughter (who leave the husband at the beginning). But I nothing much else happens...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

I loved this book. it made me feel I was living their lives. characters so believable and so many people live like this. narration was brilliant .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!