Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Eloisa James' dazzling new Georgian-set series continues....

The richest bachelor in England plays matchmaker...for an heiress he wants for himself! 

For beautiful, witty Lavinia Gray, there's only one thing worse than having to ask the appalling Parth Sterling to marry her: being turned down by him.

Now the richest bachelor in England, Parth is not about to marry a woman as reckless and fashion-obsessed as Lavinia; he's chosen a far more suitable bride.

But when he learns of Lavinia's desperate circumstances, he offers to find her a husband. Even better, he'll find her a prince.

As usual, there's no problem Parth can't fix. But the more time he spends with the beguiling Lavinia, the more he finds himself wondering....

Why does the woman who's completely wrong feel so right in his arms?

The third book in New York Times best-selling Eloisa James' new series, the Wildes of Lindow Castle, is perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses

©2018 Eloisa James (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic reviews

Praise for Eloisa James: "Eloisa James is extraordinary." (Lisa Kleypas)

"Smart heroines, sensual heroes, witty repartee and a penchant for delicious romance have made James a fan favorite...readers will be hooked from beginning to end." (RT Book Reviews)

"Romance writing does not get much better than this." (People

What listeners say about Born to Be Wilde

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book and the narrator. Wonderful book

I have enjoyed every book written by Eloisa James and narrated by Susan Duerdan , excellent.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't get past the narration

This sounded like fun but I couldn't get past the bizarre narration style. The dialogue was fine but otherwise it sounded like someone doing the voice over for a documentary or news story. Each sentence was given the same dramatic tone, with the same stressed emphasis on the last word, and I couldn't focus on the story at all it was so jarring.