Listen free for 30 days

  • Armor

  • A Progression Fantasy Epic
  • By: C.B. Titus
  • Narrated by: Heath Miller
  • Length: 12 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (46 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

I was created as the ultimate dungeon trap. A living suit of armor that devours any adventurer who dons me.

My master created me for his entertainment, leading adventurers to ruin. Betraying them at the last moment, just when their glorious victory was on hand.

I have been found again by the newest member of a quartet of dungeon crawlers. Poor fool. This time will be no different.

Or does it have to be? 

Maybe I don't need to spend eternity left in a deep, dark dungeon waiting to devour would-be heroes. Maybe, just maybe, I can take him over and use this new identity to leave and masquerade as an adventurer myself.

Betray my master—my purpose—and grow strong enough to find a new one. One problem. Hopefully, my new companions won't realize I'm not who, or what, they think I am.

Don't miss this progression fantasy epic from debut author C.B. Titus, about a cursed suit of mimic-armor and an unsuspecting hero. Perfect for fans of Dungeons and Dragons, The Murderbot Diaries, Goblin Slayer, and lovers of all things progression fantasy/GameLit.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Armor

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing standalone book

As a previous review stated this book is an excellent example of a solid beginning, middle and end structure.
The build up is slow and very well played out (but full of action) as the main character finds his way and his future development is great. I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to delve into a realm saving hero storyline with very unique origins. A solid listen. Heath Miller also happens to be a favourite narrator of mine, awesome job yet again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

perfect standalone book

one of the best examples for why the old start middle ending is good. most of recent books seem to be based on online stories or ongoing works becoming bloated and massive things that have no end in sight.
Great characters, interesting setting and story.

Narrator Heath Miller is very good as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant experience

I was not sure what to expect with this title but it was a pleasant surprise and a most enjoyable listen.

The characters are interesting, I was invested in what happened to them and I was engrossed in the story. The plot was good and the pace perfect. The whole story in one book makes a refreshing change from my usual listening.

The story was more fantasy and adventure than litrpg but I really enjoyed it.

The narrator was perfect and did an exceptional job, he really is gifted.

There was some nice twists, touching moments and some very funny lines. I recommend this title.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good standalone story

Pretty enjoyable story I feel like the character arch could have been flashed out but was fun and would recommend

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denard
  • Denard
  • 08-08-22

the best part about this book is that it's

the best part about this book is that it's a standalone meaning it starts and completes its entire self in this one novel, that's refreshing because most books nowadays all have continuations not this one it reminds me of ready player one in that aspect anywho if you want an enjoyable stand alone this is a good book

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joella Berkner
  • Joella Berkner
  • 07-08-22

Unusual premise with excellent execution

I would never have thought of a suit of armor as a protagonist but it made for an excellent story full of unexpected twists. Heath Miller did an outstanding job of giving voice to the wide variety of characters and bringing the world to life. Always happy to hear more work from Heath. Very glad to have found another author I enjoy and hope to see more work from in the future. If you enjoy fun character interaction and a bit of intrigue in a unique fantasy setting you can’t go wrong picking up this book. I highly recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-08-22

This is probably my favorite book this year

This book had everything I love a seemingly evil monster with heart of gold, a badass barbarian who isn't all brawn without brain, the classic cleric type with a twist, and a old dwarf rogue with a fantastic sense of humor. I think any fantasy fan can find something to enjoy here.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CP
  • CP
  • 03-08-22

Interesting story, good narration.

This is a decent fantasy novel. No idea why it is marketed as lit-rpg, it has absolutely no lit-rpg elements.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mandymomof3boyz
  • Mandymomof3boyz
  • 22-07-22

Like a D&D story, but only the good parts.

The story felt like a campaign for D&D, but it was well fleshed out with strong world building, and especially good for a stand-alone book. I love the characters and how well the lead developed as the story progressed. If the author ever continues in this world I would love to read it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Samantha Lee
  • Samantha Lee
  • 27-09-22

Want more

Great character development and story and excellent narration. This author is off to a Fantastic start and I can’t wait to see more ! Please do a sequel or a long series of books please!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nathan Parker
  • Nathan Parker
  • 25-09-22

Good-hearted characters, though not likeable

Our main character is a wholesome sort, all virtue, no vice. He doesn't really have a personality, though, and our narrator uses a flat voice for him. The ending is satisfying.

I'm not crazy about this narrator. The gap between speakers is slightly too long and it kills the natural rhythm in conversations. Many of the the main characters have flat, emotionless voices.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MaGGot
  • MaGGot
  • 24-09-22

Awsum & Entertaining

I really enjoyed this audible. The sci-fy fantasy is my jam, and this hit the spot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-09-22

Something Distinctly Special

Not going to lie, when I read the premise of the story, I did not have high expectations. The other reviews and the fact that Heath Miller was the narrator made me give it a try. I'm mean come on, sentient armor...as the protagonist. I am exceedingly glad I did. This book is distinctly special and highly unique. I quickly came to respect and appreciate the angle Titus had taken with the protagonist and I want more stories like this one. I love a book that promotes the possibility for a character to change and grow.

The idea of a monster that becomes a hero is very motivational and a message that needs to be wider spread in the literary world. The book had a great sense of humor without trying too hard. The other characters were medium to well developed somewhat cliché but relatable. I would have liked a little more of a leadup as to why the Armor made the choices it made at the start of the book (a stronger driving motivator), but overall very well done.

As someone that plays RPG I can tell you, the regular races and classes get old and anymore it seems that every litrpg book is a duplicate of one another. This unique character and story angle was something I didn't know if I would be able to relate with, but I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed this book all the more for it and I think you will too, particularly if you have found yourself caught up in a world with cookie cutter characters. I highly recommend this book. Very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-09-22

solid

good story. couple of good twists. High magic setting with adventure and a dab of political intrigue.