Listen free for 30 days

  • A Killer's Daughter

  • An Absolutely Addictive Mystery and Suspense Novel
  • By: Jenna Kernan
  • Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
  • Length: 13 hrs and 6 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The girl’s long black hair clings to her face like seaweed. Her beautiful eyes are open, unseeing. And a thin line of flesh circling the base of her ring finger has been removed. It’s just like the others....

When Agent Nadine Finch gets the call about the broken body of a young woman found drifting in Sarasota Bay, Florida, she pretends it’s just another case: but deep down, she’s lying to herself. Even though she changed her name, Nadine has always known her family’s dark past would catch up with her eventually.

Examining the wound around the victim’s finger, a cruel imitation of a wedding ring, she knows for sure: someone has started killing young women in exactly the same way Nadine’s serial-killer mother did 20 years ago. 

There’s only one place she’ll find answers. And until she does, every woman in this close-knit community is in danger. At the prison, Nadine flinches as she hears her mother’s soft voice - such a contrast to those cold, cruel eyes - for the first time in decades.

"Hi baby. I’ve been expecting you...."

A gripping thriller that will have you racing through it until the final, jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Gardner and Mary Burton.

©2021 Jenna Kernan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Wow!! This book!!! Where do I begin? Completely and utterly impossible to put down. Literally had me on the edge of my seat. I devoured this book in just one sitting.... Gripping, engaging, and a superb read. A definite five stars." (Little Miss Book Lover 87)

"Blew my socks off! Had me hooked from the get go. I devoured it in one sitting. Had me hanging on for dear life. Blew my mind at the final twist! The perfect book." (@becsbookshelf_)

What listeners say about A Killer's Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Copycat killer but definitely not a copycat plot!

I found the plot really interesting. So many themes are overdone now but I can't think of any novel I've read from the viewpoint of a serial killer's daughter.
I liked all the potential threads and how you don't know which way the story is going to play out and whether anyone is truly trustworthy including the protagonist.
I'm intrigued to see that it's the first in a series... I'm already wondering where the next book will go.
My only criticism is that the narrator had a beautiful voice for the main narration and Dr Finch but the other characters were very comical. However, even though their voices amused me (because they were pretty bad), they didn't annoy me and I still loved the story and narration! 🤯

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for robin dicks
  • robin dicks
  • 17-10-21

Story kept me engage

Story kept me engaged, but very frustrated with narrator who had trouble pronouncing words correctly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rvh
  • Rvh
  • 23-09-22

Not worth the time or credit

I love mystery novels but this is not worth it. Badly written - lots of repetition and generally not well setup. The lead female character just wasn’t strong enough. Narration for female characters was ok. Male characters awful. Bad cadence throughout.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. Eaton
  • K. Eaton
  • 15-07-22

Good Story

The story itself was really good with interesting twists. It kept me guessing and i really didn't see the end coming. However I really struggled with the narration. All of the female characters except for Nadine sounded the same. There were times when I didn't know who was speaking and I had to rewind quite a bit.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-07-22

Narrator so bad I couldn’t finish

As others have said she mispronounces so many words and makes every character sound so ridiculous I couldn’t focus on the book - it was so cringy I had to return it in the first quarter. Do not waste your credit. Someone at Amazon please coach this narrator!!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marta I. Call
  • Marta I. Call
  • 22-06-22

So so Narration

The narrator mispronounced many words which I found quite distracting. Good story -
Just won’t buy another if it’s
This narrator.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-05-22

Bad narration voices

Hated the voices done by narrator- some are totally absurd. Not a fan of this book at sll

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gracie
  • Gracie
  • 04-02-22

The narrator!

I finally finished this book. I only did that because I wanted to know how it ended. The ending was very predictable, as it turned out.

For one thing, this book crams 2 pounds of words into a 10 pound book. WAY too long. But that's minor.

The narrator. I don't know how she gets a decent review. At least I think it's a she despite the name Laurence. The sample given makes it sound like the narrator is ok. But there's a variety of people in this book and with so many, listening is like fingernails on a blackboard. At least half of them speak in a white trash shrieky sneer. And I say white trash because she makes them sound like a hick from the backest of backwaters in the South. I'm white so I can say this. And I live in Florida and grew up in Georgia. I don't know anybody that talks like this. It's insulting to everybody in the South. The thing is, she speaks the main character and a few others reasonably but you don't get these in the sample. But so many others, I thought I couldn't go on. Juliet, the Medical examiner, is spoken like a real hick. She's a doctor. She's educated and intelligent. Give her some credit, Laurence. The men speak like Foghorn Leghorn.

I'll never listen to a book narrated by this person again, no matter how good the reviews are.

And BTW, learn how to pronounce the names of cities in Florida. It's OcAla with the first a pronounced as in cAt. Its BrAdenton, with a long A. There are others, but I didn't keep notes. This applies to any narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy
  • Cindy
  • 31-10-21

Amazing Twists. You can't Put it Down!

This is an amazing first book in what sounds like a new series. Kernan creates amazing characters, but the plot story has more twist than a tight spiral staircase!

This is an author to watch out for!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Kromrie
  • J. Kromrie
  • 22-09-21

silly Harlequin romance, not a mystery

why do romance writers TRY to write mysteries, they never succeed. narrator is not literate, how did you never encounter the word "khaki" before?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth Richardson
  • Elizabeth Richardson
  • 18-09-21

Great storyline

While the storyline was twisting and turning and kept you guessing I hate to say the narrator was remiss in various pronunciations. Khaki is not pronounced "cocky" and fish filet knife " fill-aye" but perhaps she wasn't afforded opportunity to read in advance. No matter what the story line was so twisting and turning I was on edge, unable to predict the end result!!!