Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When she was just 12 years old, Mackenzie Price came home to find her father bleeding to death on the kitchen floor. She will never forget that night, nor what her mother asked her to do....

Twenty years later, Detective "Mack" Price is back in Lakemore, despite vowing never to return. Determined to atone for the sins of the past, she is unstoppable in her quest for justice. 

When 18-year-old Abigail Correia goes missing, Mack is convinced that the case is linked to Erica Perez, who disappeared exactly one year before. Unlike Abby, Erica is the daughter of one of the town’s most powerful men, but still no trace of her has been found. 

As Mack endeavors to find Abby and bring her back alive, she and her team unearth a shocking secret at the heart of this small town. But that is not the only secret that lurks beneath the surface, as Mack knows only too well....  

The first book in the Detective Mackenzie Price series, Hidden Lake is a haunting crime thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons, and Karin Slaughter. 

©2020 Ruhi Choudhary (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Our Daughter's Bones

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reggie
  • Reggie
  • 10-10-20

When football is king

Detective Mackenzie Price has a dark childhood secret...one that keeps haunting her years later. Present day and she is dealing the fact that her husband has cheated on her...while investigating a missing teen case. When the case is linked to the discovery of the body of the missing teen’s friend, Mac’s investigation leads her down a dangerous path with a very powerful enemy. Good procedural thriller. Looking forward to more from this new-to-me author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia Hawk-McDowell
  • Cynthia Hawk-McDowell
  • 13-09-20

Suspense at its best!

A thriller that is completely filled with twists you never see coming! A true cliffhanger under that leaves you wanting more! I cannot wait for the next book in this series!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for olive
  • olive
  • 24-08-20

Unbelievable Ridiculous

The narration was whiny and at times down right insipid. The story line and plot was beyond ridiculous and none of the characters were likable. The plot is a jumble of story lines: The female detective is constantly crying about her husband cheating on her and visits from her father’s ghost. The bad guys who run the town are viewed as sympathetic because of their influence even after they are exposed. The police department is run by a group of people that are only focused on football and what it means to the town. Forget about investigations especially when it comes to murder and missing women.
This book is a dumpster fire.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for john calkins
  • john calkins
  • 10-08-22

Mad Mac was unbearable

Not sure I can stand another Mad Mac book. The story was interesting enough performer was adequate. Just couldn’t feel any sympathy for Mac. Normally I feel for the cheated on wife but her demeanor just aggravated me and poor stupid Sterling.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie G.
  • Marie G.
  • 06-08-22

A MIXED BAG…

It took me a little while to get into the “who-dun-nit” part of the story. It took a long time to even get to the actual crime. There was a LOT of flashing back and forth on the part of the main character, Detective MacKenzie Price. She often flashed back to an abusive childhood in which her father excessively drank and beat her mother. It got to be a little ridiculous after a while — just about every male in the book triggered one of these “flashbacks.”

The other subject that was brought up WAY too much was the importance of football to the town. I think readers got it after the 30th or so reference. Some men in the story did some pretty horrible things over the years, and because of who they “used to be” in the football world, most of their crimes were just swept under the rug and forgiven (ignored).

Although I was pretty sure I knew who the killer was about half way through the book I stayed with it until the end to see if I was right (I was). However, I wasn’t entirely sure WHY the killer did what they had done. There were a LOT of characters in this story to try to keep straight.

The narrator was decent, although there were places where she could have changed her tone more. There were a few words which were consistently mispronounced (the emphasis was on the wrong syllable, making the words sound stiff). These are minor concerns that are hopefully addressed in upcoming books in the series

The ending was a bit unbelievable, but I’m curious to know how the author is going to explain it (if it’s another flashback I’m going to be seriously annoyed). I’m curious enough to take a chance on the second book in the series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rvh
  • Rvh
  • 06-06-22

Rambling and long listen.

There is too much going on in the this book. It’s hard to decipher the main plot line vs all the side stories. Narration was just ok. The main character was confusing - she had some conflicting characteristics.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Breta
  • Breta
  • 03-05-22

On the fence

I'm on the fence about this book. I think I would have enjoyed it more with a different narrator. The narration was quite monotone which made me zone out a few times. I think the series has potential though so I'll read the next one before I make up my mind.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pabheb
  • pabheb
  • 04-02-22

Our daughter’s Bones

Fantastic book, keeps you in the edge. Cannot wait for the next one. The audible reader
Was wonderful!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina M. Smith
  • Christina M. Smith
  • 12-11-20

Loved it

I enjoyed the twists and turns. Cliff hangers really pull me in bring them on!