Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Cruel Prince meets City of Bones in this thrilling urban fantasy set in the magical underworld of Toronto where four queer teens race to stop a serial killer before their crimes expose the hidden world of faeries to humans.

Choose your player.

The half-fae outcast, desperate for acceptance.

The tempestuous Fury, exiled and hellbent on revenge.

The dutiful prince, determined to earn his place.

The brooding guardian, burdened by a terrible secret.

Each holds a key to solving a series of ritualistic murders that threaten to expose faeries to the human world. But they cannot do it alone. To track down the killer, they will have to form a tenuous alliance, putting their differences - and conflicts - aside.

Failure risks the destruction of the faerie and human worlds alike. And time is running out.

Time to roll the dice.

©2021 Ashley Shuttleworth (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about A Dark and Hollow Star

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A breath of fresh air for YA fantasy

Loveable characters, incredible LGBTQ+ rep & an exceptionally epic story! For fans of Holly Black, Sarah J Maas and the Final Fantasy franchise. Including plenty of twists and turns that I didn't forsee coming. The full cast was the cherry on the cake of this delicious fae mystery adventure!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Could have been more subtle

I really enjoyed the plot and characters but the mental health messages were way too forced and preachy. There was no subtlety to how they were incorporated into scenes and often it jolted me out of enjoying the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3.5 stars 🌟

like: likeable, interesting characters n good world building. plot n mystery kept me interested through out the story. Narrator for Arlo(?) was amazing. love her chapters the most.

dislike: too preachy about certain topics like mental health n gender identity. it was done with no subtlety n felt very forced. the voice acting for the prince sounded very nasally n whiny n was very unsuitable for the supposedly charming character. Also, using different narrators for the same characters was kinda jarring at times in the later chapters as every voice actors sounds different voicing d same characters.

overall, I recommend this book as the story was good n the characters were charming.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was a brilliant book😊

I absolutely loved this book 😊

This story is full of magic and super captivating, I absolutely love it 😊
I can't wait for the next one 😊

I do wish that the reading was done differently, that the narrator was 1 person and the voices were read by one person each instead of them always changing reader
What I mean by this is that 1 person read the dark star another the price and so on, instead os 2 or 3 people reading them 😊 aside from that it was amazing