Listen free for 30 days

  • We Unleash the Merciless Storm

  • By: Tehlor Kay Mejia
  • Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
We Unleash the Merciless Storm cover art

We Unleash the Merciless Storm

By: Tehlor Kay Mejia
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £29.29

Buy Now for £29.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

In this nail-biting sequel to Tehlor Kay Mejia’s critically acclaimed fantasy novel We Set the Dark on Fire, La Voz operative Carmen is forced to choose between the girl she loves and the success of the rebellion she’s devoted her life to. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Anna-Marie McLemore.

Being a part of the resistance group La Voz is an act of devotion and desperation. On the other side of Medio’s border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause. Carmen Santos is one of La Voz’s best soldiers. She spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to the only real home she’s ever known: La Voz’s headquarters.

There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot. Will Carmen break with her community and save the girl who stole her heart - or fully embrace the ruthless rebel she was always meant to be? 

©2020 Tehlor Kay Mejia (P)2020 HarperColins Publishers

What listeners say about We Unleash the Merciless Storm

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant for teens - power, love and self.

Brilliant for teens and young adults - age 13 and up probably. Strong storyline full of power, love and the search for self among divisive and pre-ordained lives. The protagonists' love doesn't drive the story, but gives it a strong underpinning. It is clear that the feminine drive comes from the will to right the wrongs of a patriarchal society, rather than from a love affair.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 16-11-22

The story gives me mixed feelings.

It's just too on the nose. I like the concepts, I like the scenes, I like the themes. I just don't like the delivery is all. It kinda breaks the rule of show don't tell. I liked the first book more. I liked the skill set of seeing through peoples lies. This just felt a little too "girl power" for me, from characters that kinda tore each other down most of the time. It just feels too convenient, too idealic.

That said, I could just be more of a pessimist and I feel like it might've softened the edges for younger readers. I think there are plenty of people who can like this and that's a good thing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dan L.
  • Dan L.
  • 17-07-22

Excellent conclusion to a great two book series

The first book was great and the second picked up right where the first left off. Same intensity and interest. Great romance coupled with an exciting plot

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JHawk
  • JHawk
  • 21-02-22

Great story

I would love to have more backstory for some characters and more time could have been spent on details of the world they live in but I really enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kendra
  • Kendra
  • 18-11-20

Beautiful Heartfelt Story

The story gives all the feels you want to laugh do you want to cry he steals for these girls he still for the cosmos book was so beautifully written I want more