Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Crier's War cover art

Crier's War

By: Nina Varela
Narrated by: Kim Mai Guest
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Stars Collide cover art
The Spare Man cover art
Princess of Dorsa cover art
Aurora's Angel cover art
Anastasia cover art
Dragon Queens cover art
Pirates of Aletharia cover art
The Ninth Rain cover art
A River of Royal Blood cover art
House of Eclipses cover art
The Beholder cover art
From Blood and Ash cover art
Scythe cover art
Spellbreaker cover art
Oath Taker cover art
The Broken Ones cover art

Summary

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first audiobook in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls - one human, one Made - whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now, Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death...by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

©2019 Nina Varela (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Crier's War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lives up to the hype

I’ve heard a lot about this book and was worried it wouldn’t live up to expectations but it definitely does! About to download the next book right now !

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Emotional Epic

A fantastic, wild ride through a world so different yet with such a familiar soul. Such intense peaks and furrows that keep you constantly wanting more.

An engrossing world populated with rich characters, and a history both tragic and fascinating.

But the heart of it is the story of awakening, and love.

Narrated so perfectly, capturing the essence of the world and characters

My new favourite book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • GB
  • 16-02-24

A big story

If you're looking for a fantasy adventure with lots of descriptive scenes and back story, and a little WLW in the plot, then this is the book for you.
If you're someone who tends to read lesbian fiction with love and romance, but fancied a bit more imaginative fantasy in it, this book might leave you wanting more.
This is just my perspective, as someone who enjoys lesbian based fantasy books but really wanted more to the romance side of it. I couldn't get excited about a lot of this book, and that's not fault of the author, it just isn't my normal storyline. It took over 2 hours in before characters really started talking. There is a lot, and I mean A LOT of background building and scene setting, and it was going over my head at the start (like, am I meant to remember all this? Lol). I kept waiting for the WLW part of the story to flourish and it took most of the book to get anywhere, and that barely happened either. So it's not a lesbian romance in my opinion lol, though the undertone is definitely there.
The book ends with an opener to the 2nd in the series, and I don't know, but I'd hazard a guess the WLW part moves further on in this one. I won't be listening to find out lol. It's an interesting story though, with plenty to get into. The character building is full and has the power to pull you places with the story. It just didn't pull me anywhere really. But that's me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC BOOK

The best book I have red in a long time!! Sapphics delight. 10/10 I’m going straight on to the second book Iron heart I can’t wait to find out where this story leads :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

was not sure what to expect....

After reading so many glowing reviews, I wondered if the book would live up to the hype,and I can say for me I loved this book and go right on to the next book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly generic

A cool concept, but surprisingly slow paced and dull overall. The characters fell very flat for me, and it all felt like it was setting up for a sequel (which it was). But it definitely has potential as a series, and the narrator did a solid job.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What’s the hype for?

Deeply disappointing - I wanted to love this, but the characters were bland, naive and stupid, the plot sound interesting but was dull and plodding. Failed to finish it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!