Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

For seven years I believed my husband was dead–until the note arrived this morning....

The day her husband, Tom, disappeared, Rachel’s life fell apart. Childhood sweethearts with two young children, they’d done everything together. And then, suddenly, Tom was gone. Without a word, without a note, without a single sign of where he might be, leaving Rachel to survive alone.

Now, nearly seven years later, Rachel has come to terms with life as a single mother, caring for their children who still secretly long for their father’s miraculous return.

But in his absence, Tom’s hidden life started to emerge, and Rachel has discovered things a wife should never have to. A secret life that betrayed everything Rachel thought she knew. Not knowing where he’d gone was no longer the main worry keeping her awake at night–it seemed much more likely he’d been silenced. Forever.

Until today, when–with just one month until Tom is to be declared legally dead–Rachel receives a note in handwriting she recognizes with dread: My darling, I’ve missed you so much. Give me a chance to explain. I’m coming home.

The husband she’d lost is alive.

And so are all his secrets....

A totally addictive and suspenseful thriller, perfect for fans of Shari Lapena, T.M. Logan, and Lisa Jewell.

©2022 Lesley Sanderson (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Widow's Husband

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me, sorry.

A weak storyline with an unbelievable plot. Guessed the ending early on. The plot repeats itself over and over again. Boring and predictable.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MA Reviewer
  • MA Reviewer
  • 13-09-22

Dead or Alive?

Just one month before she can declare her missing husband legally dead, a wife receives a handwritten "I want to come home" note from her missing husband,

Is this woman's husband dead or alive?

The book's premise was compelling and the author's characterizations were strong.

Although the book was engaging and fast-paced, it was very, very predictable and lacked the element of suspense that I was seeking.

Also, the woman's willingness to befriend her husband's ex-lover had my eyes rolling.

Although narrator Emma Stansfield did a superb job with the narration, the book would have benefited from three narrators since it was told from three POVs.

3.5 stars.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suneetha Raja
  • Suneetha Raja
  • 01-06-22

Good Domestic thriller

Good Domestic thriller by Lesley Sanderson similar to authors like K L Slater and Shalini Boland.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DP
  • DP
  • 24-04-22

Not Great

There are five things that happen in this book and the author just rehashes them over and over and over and over and over.