Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

She’s your oldest friend and you tell each other everything. So you’d know if she’d done something terrible, wouldn’t you?

Maddie and Kiara have been best friends since they met on their first day at university. They have always shared everything with each other--everything except one big secret, which Kiara knows would tear them apart….

When the police knock on Maddie’s front door as she and husband Nick are getting ready for the morning school run, she’s not expecting to hear what they have to tell her.

Kiara is dead.

And when Kiara’s death is ruled as suicide, Maddie can’t believe it. She knew everything about her best friend, didn’t she?

Walking into the plush apartment Kiara only recently moved into, Maddie soon discovers that her best friend’s life wasn’t as happy as she thought. Is that blood on the kitchen floor? And why didn’t Kiara tell her about secret meetings with a man Maddie knows well?

What Maddie learns next has her questioning who her best friend really was. And now she’s discovered Kiara’s web of lies, could her own life be in danger?

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife, Do I Really Know You? is a gripping new psychological thriller from best-selling author Sheryl Browne. Once you start, you won’t be able to stop!

©2022 Sheryl Browne (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Woah! This book was crazy good, talk about mind games! Wow, I feel out of breath after reading this! Absolutely sucked me in, I was totally captivated and couldn't put this one down… An incredible read… Blew my mind." (Bonnie’s Book Talk)

"Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! What a rollercoaster of a ride that story was, bloody brilliant!… If you enjoyed The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl then this story is for you!" (Between the Pages Book Club)

"I'm speechless... it is just that amazing." (Rachel’s Random Reads)

What listeners say about Do I Really Know You?

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Seriously

why does every book in this genre end so ridiculously?

I was enjoying the book until the last two hours then I ended up making a decision, I'm never going to buy a book in this genre again . if it were a physical book I would like my cat litter with it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t pause it

This was a take a chance - something different and was so engaging - I had a million scenarios in my head on possible outcomes! Loved it

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tedious

Please please can someone who publishes this authors work- read the words out loud as a listener would.
Distractedly, embarrassedly, thoughtfully, hopefully, defensively, warily, every few sentences-really grating.
The story was slow, mundane and unsurprising.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Audible suggested read...and a fantastic thriller!

Absolutely loved this and will be reading more by this previously unknown to me author. Who is the lover? Nathan? Or Jake? And who forced a woman to her death, using her intense phobia? The wronged husband? His mistress? Her lover's wife? Or her lover himself? I worked out the true suspects fairly quickly but the story kept me guessing until the end. One star (wish half was an option) off as I would have liked to know the outcome of the villains. Highly recommended thriller.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karenique
  • Karenique
  • 02-08-22

Clever! Complexellent! Compelling!

Brilliant British narration by Tamsin Kennard is the reason I bought this one and, for that, I thank her. A new author to me, Sheryl Browne, pens an captivating and intricate whodunnit. I’ll be adding her to my preferred authors; I’m on the search for more by these two talented and accomplished women. Searching by narrator has taught me that I can indeed find a lot of hidden gems. From the very start, I was hooked and consumed by this absorbing and provocative audiction. Kennard, as always, shines through with her constant spot-on performance. She presents each and every character with pitch-perfect precision. Subplots galore, jaw-dropping surprises around every corner and so much more. Listen intently, no multitasking here.Just when I thought I did have whodunnit figured out {{{did I?}}}, there’s a missing person’s case to solve and that kept me up ‘til the early morning hours. Deliciously devious! Well worth a cherished credit. Here I go again. I’m screaming from the rooftop, “Epic, I say! EPIC! EPIC! EPIC!”

✍🏻👏🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟👏✍🏻

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 23-07-22

Great read!

Fresh take on a similar story line. Kept my interest the whole way through! Some parts could have been shorter though. Definitely recommend

1 person found this helpful