Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Widow cover art

The Widow

By: Valerie Keogh
Narrated by: Rose Robinson
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The brilliant psychological thriller from bestseller Valerie Keogh.

Grieving or guilty?

When Allison’s wealthy and charming husband Peter is found dead, she appears distraught, devastated...delighted?

Because despite an apparently picture-perfect marriage, Allison knows it was all built on a bed of lies.

And as the truth regarding Peter’s life and death are revealed, Allison must try to keep her own dark past buried.

Because if Peter was keeping secrets, then his widow is too....

Perfect for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and K. L. Slater.

©2022 Valerie Keogh (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Keogh is the queen of compelling narratives and twisty plots." (Jenny O'Brien)

"A wonderful book, I can’t rate this one highly enough. If only there were ten stars, it’s that good. Valerie Keogh is a master story-teller, and this is a masterful performance." (Anita Waller, bestselling author)

What listeners say about The Widow

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best story I've listened to

This was going to be an amazing story from the first few words.
The narrator was excellent, the story was gripping. I've read of people not wanting to put a book down, this is so true with this one.
I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish and would recommend everyone to read/listen to it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

Great book, gripping with lots of twists & turns. Narrator was fabulous too. Was gripped to the very end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book

It was a little slow to start with but gained momentum. A few twists and turns. Couldn’t stop listening

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Story !!

I love this Author's books a lot and I read all of them.
But this is now my absolutely favourite.
Talking about twist and turns, fantastic narrator as well 10 out of 10 !!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HailtoTheVictors
  • HailtoTheVictors
  • 12-11-22

Not great

Not awful but not unlistenable. 3 out of 5. Drags a lot. At times the narrator is just too dramatic and breathy. Honey it’s not that dramatic. Take it down a notch.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for karen
  • karen
  • 31-12-22

Really good book

I really enjoyed this book. Even though I figured out who a character was very early on the rest of the book was a surprise.