Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Widow cover art

The Widow

By: Valerie Keogh
Narrated by: Rose Robinson
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Lodger cover art
The Trophy Wife cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Nurse cover art
Secrets Between Us: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller cover art
The Little Lies cover art
The Three Women cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
The Lodge cover art
Her Husband's Mistake cover art
The Wrong Mother cover art
The Friend cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Perfect Match cover art
The Lie cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art

Summary

The brilliant psychological thriller from bestseller Valerie Keogh.

Grieving or guilty?

When Allison’s wealthy and charming husband Peter is found dead, she appears distraught, devastated...delighted?

Because despite an apparently picture-perfect marriage, Allison knows it was all built on a bed of lies.

And as the truth regarding Peter’s life and death are revealed, Allison must try to keep her own dark past buried.

Because if Peter was keeping secrets, then his widow is too....

Perfect for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and K. L. Slater.

©2022 Valerie Keogh (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Keogh is the queen of compelling narratives and twisty plots." (Jenny O'Brien)

"A wonderful book, I can’t rate this one highly enough. If only there were ten stars, it’s that good. Valerie Keogh is a master story-teller, and this is a masterful performance." (Anita Waller, bestselling author)

What listeners say about The Widow

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    197
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

twists and turns galore

Absolutely loved this book, quite fast paced and has you literally holding your breath at some points. Narration perfect. Will be looking for more by this author xx highly recommended 👌

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent characters

Really enjoyed this story. So many unexpected surprises. Edge of your seat hard to put down

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Good book and had no idea until the end 👍👍 maybe a little far fetched but enjoyed all the same 😁

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a rollercoaster of a book

This book keeps the reader on the edge of their seats right up to the last chapter and it was free.
Will be keeping an eye out for this author in the future.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A find

I didn’t know this author, so took a chance on the 2
for 1 deal. Pleasantly surprised as the reviews were mixed. Throughly enjoyed the story, very interesting characters.
Will try more by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I really enjoyed listening to this book.

Great story, very well told too. 👏🏻

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Good characters. Well wrote story. Good reading with a nice easy listen to tone.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • KW
  • 26-06-23

The Widow

Lots of twists and turns from beginning to end and enough unpredictability to keep it interesting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad

Nicely paced narrative, the reader had sn easy to listen to clear voice.

I quite liked the story, full of twists and turns - I was surprised by Jo - but the ending was a bit sudden. Almost as though the writer suddenly realised the time and had to finish and go somewhere.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyable

I loved the whole story , the characters, the twists and turns. I look forward to reading more from this author

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!