Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Perfect Match

  • By: Dandy Smith
  • Narrated by: Helen Keeley
  • Length: 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Perfect Match cover art

The Perfect Match

By: Dandy Smith
Narrated by: Helen Keeley
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

One Small Mistake cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
The Younger Woman cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
Her Husband's Mistake cover art
My Word Against His cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Inheritance cover art
The Trophy Wife cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Night of the Sleepover cover art
The Lie cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
Four Steps cover art

Summary

She loves him, but can she trust him?

When I meet Henry by chance at a wedding, it is love at first sight. He's charming, handsome and successful - everything I've ever wanted.

When he proposes, it seems like all my dreams are coming true.

But Ivy, my best friend, isn't happy for me at all. She tells me I am making a huge mistake and accuses Henry of something unthinkable.

I know it can't be true. But why would Ivy lie to me?

Now someone is dead and I need to find the truth, whatever it costs me. Before I lose everyone I've ever loved...

A totally gripping listen with a killer twist you won't see coming. Fans of K.L Slater, Lisa Jewell and C.L Taylor will be hooked by Dandy Smith.

©2023 Dandy Smith (P)2023 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about The Perfect Match

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Was disappointed.
Hate a story that doesn’t give me a conclusive ending and I have to decide.
Couldn’t stand Ivy’s “posh” voice. Grated on me, and there were were no endearing qualities in Henry that would have made him a catch!
Overall…. Not for me!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping, intense, fast paced thriller

A story about a girl who is torn between her best friend and boyfriend. Lies, scandal and murder. Wit, humour, and sadness. Intensity throughout. I loved this read so much. I read it in less than 3 days. The relationship between the girls is sisterhood, soulmates, possessiveness, and obsession with a sprinkle of sex. Dandy has possibly even taken some inspiration from Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas, if you liked that book, you’d definitely love this one.

The girls meet at university, on a drunken night in their student union, bonding over a heartbreak. Singing in the bathroom to Dirty Dancing and that was it, best friends. Years later, Zara meets a man. He is attractive, wealthy, intelligent and everything a girl could dream of. Ivy takes an instant dislike to Henry and this grows into jealously, lies and drama for Zara. It becomes a matter of he said/she said after various events happen in the book (I won’t give you any spoilers) Torn between the two, who will she believe? The book addresses many interesting topics/themes, such as: friendship, love, toxic/abusive relationships, and death.

This will have you gripped, right from the intense first chapter. You will not put it down. You will not regret buying it.

Previously reading Dandy Smith’s One Small Mistake (get a copy if you haven’t already) I became a huge fan of her work. She is witty, smart, a feminist and will address some intense topics in a careful, sensitive way, whilst keeping it interesting for the reader.

I can’t believe I’m saying this but this book (Somehow) is even better than her first. If you read her previous book, don’t even hesitate to buy this one. If you haven’t buy both. You won’t regret it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark, sexy and clever

My second read from this author and loved it even more than her first! This story has everything a thriller reader could want and more.
I am eagerly awaiting more from Dandy Smith!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scrumptious story

Really enjoyed the first book and this one had the same style of writing which I was originally drawn into; the use of metaphors weaved into the narrative to help us imagine how a character is feeling or to explain their perspective is so much more interesting to listen to. It’s not just a case of saying they felt “sad” or “angry” which I find such a cop out from some authors. A great storyline with a few sub-plots running alongside. Worth a listen to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists & Turns

Usually I like a conclusive ending to a book to leave me satisfied, but I did really like that you got to interpret the ending based on whether you believed Zara's obsession and history with Ivy would over power Ivy's recent deceptive behaviour (more than usual). The twist on Zara's stalker I didn't expect.

I really struggled to listen to the narrators accents for the characters, particular Ivy and Henry. Too posh for me! But maybe that'z because I'm Northern? I do understand they are from Bath though so makes sense for the storyline.

Overall would recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastically tense and deeply layered

An intriguing dissection of types of abuse, toxic relationships and the lies we tell ourselves in order to believe that we are happy.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Awful complete waste of time and money

Do not waste either on this ridiculous unbelievable tale . Ludicrous story line with totally implausible characters

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!