Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Perfect Holiday cover art

The Perfect Holiday

By: T. J. Emerson
Narrated by: Simon Mattacks
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Feud cover art
The Resort cover art
The Lodge cover art
Little Nothings cover art
The Last to Disappear cover art
Other People's Marriages cover art
My Little Brother cover art
No Secrets cover art
Losing Juliet cover art
The Summer We Ran Away cover art
The Friend cover art
The Best Boomerville Hotel cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
Between You and Me cover art
What Rosie Found Next cover art
The Widow cover art

Summary

Olivia and Julian are enjoying lazy days in their Spanish villa, a well-deserved break from their busy lives. Especially for Julian, who after a lifetime as a carer was thrust into the public eye following the tragic murder of his first wife.

The languid heat and peace of the villa is broken only by clifftop walks, sun-drenched lunches and cooling swims. Until a chance encounter with Gabriel—an attractive man, many years their junior—changes everything. Soon their idyllic break turns into a dangerous, high-stakes game of cat-and-mouse. Will any of them get out alive?

Perfect for fans of T.M. Logan's The Catch and The Couple at No. 9 by Claire Douglas.

©2022 T. J. Emerson (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"This taut, elegant thriller thrums with dark menace and dread. I couldn’t look away." (Kate Riordan, best-selling author of The Heatwave)

What listeners say about The Perfect Holiday

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening

Brilliantly narrated by the wonderful Simon Mattacks, I binge listened to this. I listen to lots of books, and this is definitely one of the best. Excellent twist at the end which I didn’t see coming.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not my cup of tea

Unfortunately I just couldn’t get into the story a bit long winded and to be honest boring

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!💯👏🏽was SO happy to see Simon Mattacks was the narrator🙌🏽👏🏽

Was hooked to this for past 2 days! Without giving anything away, it wasn’t my kind of thing that I usually would read, but it was done SO well that it was amazing! It has you constantly needing to know more, and has you that you can’t stop listening🤗 i love that!! BRILLIANT story, so descriptive about the holiday side of it, which was lovely 😊 Simon Mattacks was OUTSTANDING as ALWAYS! Thank you T.J Emerson for a wonderful 2 days, thoroughly enjoyed your book💯👏🏽👏🏽!! Thank you Simon Mattacks you were absolutely BRILLIANT!💯👏🏽👏🏽Thank you audible for another WONDERFUL book! Sad that it has finished!!😩😊♥️xxx

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A slow burner

Slow starter, but bought together …….eventually. With a few quite satisfying twists. I found it difficult to sympathise with all but one of the characters.
On a minor note, I have never been “privileged” to the toileting habits of so many characters before.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Spectacularly bland

Other than the final 2-3 chapters (35 mins) I found this entire book to be spectacularly bland and predictable. The usual "twist" at the end barely qualified either. Slight spoilers ahead.

The books protagonist (or at least POV character) is a weak-willed, unfaithful, indecisive whinger. All we ever heard about is his moaning about how he hates his life with his loving, rich wife in their secluded tropical villa. Forgive me for not empathising with this character.

Then a previous affair partner appears and due to the main character's spinelessness they hook up again and again. His new lover is waving more red flags than most matadors do in their entire careers yet Julian is both oblivious and entirely lead by his dick. It's just sad. I'm not sure if the religious symbolism of Gabriel was intentional but if it was then it was pointless.

The middle of the book is mostly filler and fairly dull. It just goes on and on. The narrative picks up a lot at the conclusion and I assume the story ending with a comparatively thrilling conclusion skews the reviews to be more positive. A middle full of descriptions of aggressive tooth brushing or of people "emptying themselves" into the toilet in the morning probably blanked from the readers' minds.

The narration was competent but slow. I had to listen to it sped up a bit because 1.0x sounded like someone whose voice has been artificially slowed down. I'm not sure I could talk that slowly if I tried.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very boring couldn’t wait for it to end

Did not like this. Very boring narration and story wanted it to end as soon as possible

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing from start to finish

I really enjoyed this novel set in Majorca which added to the interest. The novel takes different turns as it unfolds. The resolution is neat and for a while I did not think it would take the direction it did, although like all armchair sleuths it did cross my mind.

Great descriptions aid to visualising the characters.I enjoyed the middle class Brits abroad descriptions. and the young BoHos.

I did not enjoy the female voices which the male narrator used.They seemed a mixture of Noel Coward heroines and Drag Queens. However this is a skilled narration and for the most part lifts the novel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No enthusiasm from Narrator

So boring I turned it off a few chapters in…..Not sure if it was narrator or story….- not for me..

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Give it time

I started this ages ago, but it just wasn't gripping me. I persevered, and them Bam, out of nowhere, pops Gabriel, and I was hooked. A good insight into the very much underappreciated role of unpaid carers and the mental impact this can have. It's well worth a listen if you can get past the first few chapters. I thought the narration was spot on.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable throughout

It was balanced pace, well narrated but totally predictable in every aspect. If there is a sequel, save your time !

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!